Skip to content

My Pioneer Day post

July 27, 2009

Now that Pioneer Day is over and done with–It’s been one of those weekends.  It’s been one of those weeks.  I had a huge to-do list assembled for our back-to-school organizing and…hardly tackled a thing on it last week.  I’ve just been really tired.  We’ve tried to go to the park in the mornings before it really gets hot, and while it was a good idea in theory, it wiped me out for the remainder of the day and I’ve been pretty useless in the afternoons.

And once again, I got talked into doing all the Pioneer Day festivities on Friday.  I thought last year would be our last chance to live close to all the downtown craziness that is the celebration of the Mormon pioneers’ entry into the Salt Lake Valley.  But we’re still here and as we live closer to the parade route than most people can park, once again my children convinced me to go to the parade.  They actually asked how early we would have had to leave to get a spot right in front, on the curb.  I said, “Thursday, and there is no possible way your father would let us sleep out on the parade route!”  It sounds fun, but no.

Now I love Pioneer Day and all, but I don’t really love this parade all that much.  It’s hot, there are huge crowds, there’s no candy, it’s hot, it’s a very long parade, and did I mention it’s hot?  We were lucky enough to find a free spot under a shady tree, but still, July in Utah has to be my least favorite time of year.  It ranks right up there with August!  I do NOT like summer, and I don’t care if it is a dry heat. 

But I am very grateful that I only had to walk a couple of blocks, pulling a wagon.  I could have just crossed the plains, pulling a handcart, with no parade to look forward and no air-conditioner to camp in front of for the rest of the afternoon. 

We did actually have a good time together, and it has been a fun tradition while we’ve lived down here to go to the parade and the fireworks at Liberty Park.  I don’t know if it will continue when we move further out or not.  I think I’d only been to the Days of ’47 Parade twice before we moved downtown.  So, good memories…This year we saw Pres. Eyring, first counselor in the LDS Church Presidency:

P7230496

The boys loved all the police motorcycles:

P7230498

And for whoever googled “Bagpipes, 2009 Pioneer Day parade” and ended up at my blog on Friday, yes, we love bagpipes too (and we’re sad we missed the Scottish festival while we were quarantined with swine flu):

P7230500

And then my camera battery died, but I did get one picture of the boys (I have been woefully remiss about taking pictures this entire summer):

P7230501

Now that the holiday’s over, it’s back to work–I have seven days to get ready for school again.  I also have cello students this week, a doctor’s appointment, tickets to the Oquirrh Mountain temple open house, and probably a few other things I’m forgetting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 12:44 am

    For me, remembering the trials and travails, the sickness and death, encountered on the overland trail is not just about being true to some historical ethic concerned with presenting “the rest of the story” (as important as that is). To me, it’s personal. Those that lost their lives, and their relatives who lost their family members, just plain deserve to be remembered. I have to think that they would be gratified to know that they are remembered.

  2. July 27, 2009 6:44 am

    Cute picture of the boys as always! 🙂

  3. July 27, 2009 8:46 am

    We didn’t make it to the bagpipers. Tae was done after 1/2 an hour. Next time I think we’ll aim for the 2nd East side of the parade. Everyone looks pretty pooped by the time they finally get to 9th South. Even the royalty ladies were pulling funny faces and trying to fan themselves.

  4. Mom permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:50 am

    It was fun to hear about your Pioneer day. Sorry I missed the parade but glad I missed the heat. We did see a small portion of the parade on TV We were able to see Pres. Eyring. The boys are so cute!

Leave a Reply

