Skip to content

We may be crazy, but we’re sure happy right now

August 5, 2009

People looked at me like I was nuts at church on Sunday whenever I mentioned we were starting school the next day.  Nobody said it, but I’m sure a few were thinking I was crazy for depriving my children of summer vacation and wanting to hit the books again when it’s barely August. 

What they don’t seem to know is that my children crave learning.  They love school.  They really do!  They love to learn new things and have their minds stimulated, and it’s not like they’re chained to a desk for six hours a day (which people seem to picture when I mention we’re doing classical education.)  The boys were all so enthusiastic when I asked them if they just wanted to start back up again with our new year since our summer school plans went awry. 

I’m learning that once you’ve chosen homeschooling, which is already non-traditional, why stick to a traditional school year schedule if that’s really not the best plan for your family?  I know we’ll have to take time off for the baby and for our supposed move.  It’s hot here in August anyway and we just want to stay indoors so why not be learning something.  We can and do take breaks throughout the year when the weather outside is much more enjoyable.  In fact we already have a planned vacation coming up soon. 

We also crave the routine that school gives us.  Everyone, including me, has been so happy this week.  The past few months have been unpredictable at best.  Now we know what to expect when we get up, the boys can see what they need to accomplish for the day and they know that I’m going to be right there with them challenging them and helping them grow.  Taking into consideration our bouts with swine flu, pneumonia, not to mention 12 or so good weeks of morning sickness, I have not been the fun mom this summer at all.  Then I’ve spent the past two weeks frantically finishing preparations for school and haven’t spent much time at all playing or just hanging out with them.  School is actually turning out to be a lot more fun than we’ve had in months!

So call us crazy, I don’t care!  It works for us.

Oh, and never underestimate the hours of entertainment that you can get out of aluminum foil and curling ribbon. 

(We made comets, pictures to come in our weekly report on Friday.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 5:36 am

    Oh yes, there are a few people here who think I’m bonkers and mean for depriving my kids, too, lol. (We started Monday). I told the girls not to mention we are starting early to anyone unless they specifically ask. I get so tired of explaining that we prefer to start early so we can end early. And enjoy the summer while it’s still actually spring. And take days off when we want to. And have a longer Christmas vacation. And take our birthdays off. And, etc… lol

  2. August 6, 2009 8:48 am

    I should have been at church on Sunday. That way you could have at least had one person not look at you like you were crazy! I’m looking forward to seeing pictures of this years projects, starting with the comets, of course.

  3. August 6, 2009 11:14 am

    People around me have always thought I was crazy for homeschooling. I have had a number of people ask me if I was going to put them in public school now that I have the baby. As if a baby suddenly makes all the reasons to homeschool go away? I think you are great to be doing school already. I hope I have my act together in a few weeks so we can officially start our school year in September (later than usual because of the baby). My kids are already asking to do school. I think they crave the predictability of “doing school” each day. I am actually looking forward to starting Chemistry and doing History again. It is hard on everyone where there isn’t a plan or a schedule. And it really is fun learning right along with the kids.

  4. August 6, 2009 12:12 pm

    Yeppers! I’m going to agree with you and with all the comments! My kids love learning and we just don’t feel the need stop for the entire summer. We had planned on going all the way through, but got interrupted by a very cool opportunity (playmakers.) We also love the flexibility of saying, “this looks like a better way to spend our time for a few weeks!”

    We’re starting on Monday, and the girls are so excited!! (Of course, we caught flak for it at girls camp this week. ESP. from the leaders, two of whom work in the public school system!)

  5. August 7, 2009 10:22 pm

    school has already started here. so just know that there are people in az that don’t think you’re crazy at all! hope you have a great school year!!!

  6. August 7, 2009 10:41 pm

    We school year-round, and the kids thrive on the routine and the more frequent short breaks. Keep up the good work!

  7. August 8, 2009 3:44 pm

    Rose Park Elementary started on August 3rd. People still look at us like we’re crazy… then I have to go into the “It’s a “year round” school” schpiel.
    This year two different schools, two different schedules, two different times for breaks… oh boy.

Leave a Reply

