Skip to content

Now I need a vacation

August 31, 2009

to recover from my vacation!  I…am…so…incredibly…tired!

We just got home late Friday night from spending 4+ days in southern Utah.  We really had a great time, but I’m exhausted!  Other than going to church, I’ve just been sitting here for two days doing nothing, trying to recover. 

In short we went to the Utah Shakespearean Festival and then went hiking through Bryce Canyon.

Highlights (or memorable moments anyway): 

  • Taking A and C to see The Secret Garden on Tuesday where C was very wiggly, but other than that, did ok.  I was very glad we had read the book ahead of time and that they were very familiar with the story.  Even though the musical is a bit different,  they were able to follow along, and the music was so beautiful.
  • Enjoying the Greenshow as a family.
  • Eating lemon tarts from the Sweet Shoppe.
  • Seeing Henry V with DH and AI think I may have a new favorite Shakespeare play.  It was wonderful.  It also didn’t end until 11 p.m., making for a late night, although I was really glad that we chose to see it outside in the Shakespearean Theater.  It was easier to get into the spirit of Shakespeare that way.  A drama teacher sitting down the row from us was very impressed that A (at age 8) was able to follow along and enjoy the production.  He ended up sitting on the floor though–I got front row seats up in the gallery and the railing was right in the middle of his line of vision.

P8250576

  • Seeing The Comedy of Errors with A on Wednesday, which was hilarious.  A said this one was his favorite. 
  • Driving over to Bryce Canyon, stopping at Cedar Breaks Nat’l Monument on the way.  It’s kind of a mini-Bryce. 
A at Cedar Breaks
A at Cedar Breaks
  • Driving through the red rock tunnels in Red Canyon that look just like the scenery in Cars
  • Sleeping in a tipi at Ruby’s Inn, just outside of Bryce Canyon.  Of course I made those reservations before I knew I was pregnant, but after DH told me I’d better get a hotel room as well (essentially betting me I couldn’t sleep on the ground in a sleeping bag) I was determined to do it anyway.  And I did!  I may need a chiropractor this week, but it wasn’t so bad.   
  • Thursday night when we awoke around 3 a.m. to find D crawling around looking for his sleeping bag, which was on the opposite side of the tipi.  He’d crawled out of it and couldn’t find his way back in the pitch dark. 

P8260591

  • Spending time with DH’s mother (Nana) who flew out to meet us for a few days and offered me the use of the other bed in her room if I really needed it.
  • Being prepared for weather!  It wasn’t nearly so cold as it could have been.  When we left Salt Lake, it was pouring rain and I was worried.  Every time I travel, I get wacky weather.  But it actually turned out to be pretty hot down south, even up at 7000 feet.  I’ve been caught unprepared for the weather so many times, that we took everything this time–coats, gloves, jackets, boots, long pants, shorts, sweatshirts, T-shirts.  We were covered!  It’s such a great feeling.  Now I just wish I’d remembered a hat for me or at least sunscreen.  I’m a little on the red side.
  • Finding out that C is really really afraid of heights.  He didn’t want to go anywhere near the rim of the canyon, even with the fences and railings in place.  I told him next time we’d have to go to Zion Nat’l Park so we’d be at the bottom looking up rather than at the top looking down.  He thought that was a great idea. 

P8270634

  • Hiking and exploring and photographing red rocks (which all kind of look the same once you get home and download them.)
View from Bryce Point
View from Bryce Point
Bryce Canyon with Grand Staircase-Escalante in the distance
Bryce Canyon with Grand Staircase-Escalante in the distance
K and A at Sunrise Point
K and A at Sunrise Point

 

View from Sunrise Point
View from Sunrise Point
Looking down into Wall Street from Sunset Point
Looking down into Wall Street from Sunset Point
  •  Helping A do the activities for the Jr. Ranger program
A being sworn in as a Jr. Ranger
A being sworn in as a Jr. Ranger
P8270656

A with his Jr. Ranger badge and hat

  • Listening to an amazing Ranger program about the battle for the night sky, and how light pollution may eventually stamp out the stars for all of us.  It was very funny and yet highly informative.
  • Finding the Big Dipper, Little Dipper, and Cygnus with A (no luck with southern constellations though) 
  • Seeing A get so excited about hiking down into the canyon with Daddy (none of the rest of us were up for it, least of all C)
  • Finally getting C on a hike, to a waterfall, far from any precariously high canyon edges

P8280664

And of course there were a few lowlights as well:

  • My allergies setting in on Thursday
  • C and D bouncing off the walls in Nana’s hotel room (after professing they were just toooooo tired to walk or do anything outside) while waiting for DH and A to come back from their hike
  • General crabbiness here and there from being in close quarters, out of our normal routine, and going to bed too late every night
  • Having A point out, “There’s some red rock!”  “There’s some more red rock!”  and telling him that we’d be seeing red rocks for the next two days and please don’t point out every single one of them or Mommy just might go crazy!
  • Getting really sick of kids’ menus at restaurants–it became our game–guess the kids’ menu before you look at it.  I mean seriously, can’t we get more creative than hamburgers, cheeseburgers, chicken fingers, quesadillas, grilled cheese, and macaroni and cheese?  With fries?  At every meal?  It was fun watching C eat an entire piece of blueberry pie all by himself one night though.

Even though I’m exhausted, we had a great time.  It’s so good to get away and just be together as a family.  That we could combine that with Shakespeare, red rock beauty, and stargazing in one of the darkest places in the country just made it that much more memorable.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 8:05 am

    The Shakespeare Festival sounds great. One of these years I would love to have my family go.

    The Teepee sounds like fun…… at first. I am glad is wasn’t so bad.

    It always takes a few days to recoup after taking a vacation. We usually try to schedule in a day or two at home after a vacation before my husband has to head back to work just so we can all settle back down into a more normal schedule.

    It certainly sounds like a fun time was had by all! I totally agree about children’s menus especially since my kids don’t eat mac and cheese, grilled cheese, or quesadillas. It leaves very little for the little guys to choose from.

  2. August 31, 2009 8:06 am

    What a great trip!!! Three years ago, I went with my in-laws to the Shakespeare festival and it was so fun and we also went to Cedar Breaks and Bryce Canyon. It is so beautiful there, I have never seen canyon’s before. I also have a picture of me just barely pregnant standing at Sunrise point…too funny. I cannot not wait to take my children back there someday.

    I hope you get much needed rest.

  3. August 31, 2009 11:16 am

    I’m so sorry we missed you while you were here. We were sick with colds and it wouldn’t have been good to expose your kids anyway!

    Take care,

    Anne

  4. August 31, 2009 5:54 pm

    Sounds like a great trip. We performed in the musical of The Secret Garden this past spring. It was the broadway version, probably the same that you saw. We enjoyed the music so much!
    Blessings
    Diane

  5. Mom permalink
    September 1, 2009 4:43 pm

    I really enjoyed the photos and hearing about every thing you did. Glad you got to go on such an awesome vacation. And yes I can believe you are so tired. Keep up th good work of chronicling your life.

Leave a Reply

