Skip to content

In short…

September 8, 2009

School has been taking all of my time, thought processes, and energy lately!  I have very little left over for anything else.  I feel like I’ve had very little unclaimed time anywhere.  I’ve hardly read any books lately although I’ve wanted to.  I’ve hardly written any blog posts although I have tons of thoughts rattling around in my head that I want to get out at some point.  So here’s just a few things I’ve been thinking about lately, in short.  Longer and more detailed posts will just have to wait. 

  • With four of us here all day, even doing only two jobs apiece per day, that’s potentially 56 chores that could get done on a weekly basis.  So why does my house look so messy???
  • Maybe because there are four of here all day, every day?
  • I have started orchestra again and boy, can this child inside of me kick while I play.  Of course I’d kick too if my mother had been so sick all summer she barely practiced the cello at all and then subjected me to the dissonant sounds of Kodaly for a good 90 minutes.  Dvorak is much easier on the ears (his and mine.)
  • Taking the summer off from practicing was not the greatest idea.  Not that I intended to do so.  Practicing is about the last thing I want to do when I’m sick.
  • Dh has ordered me to quit buying meat and start eating what’s already in the freezer.  He bought a new bag of chicken at Costco and came home to find a pot roast in its place.  I didn’t know the chicken had an assigned place in the freezer.  I didn’t see its name there.  And I can never turn down a sale on red meat.  So I guess pot roast is on the menu some time this week.
  • We also need to make pizza for D’s FIAR book, and we promised C we’d do hot dogs and s’mores at the park sometime soon. 
  • Neither of which is a good idea for Wednesdays when C has Kindermusik right at dinner time.  We need some new crockpot ideas.
  • D has discovered cut-n-paste.  This could be the answer to how to keep a 4-year-old entertained while I’m schooling his brothers.
  • Never give a long math review to A after a holiday weekend.  It was like it was a foreign language.  C on the other hand whizzed through his math today.  So do we blame the holiday?  Or just A?
  • A did do very well at conjugating Latin verbs today with me.  The Ludere Latine games and puzzles book is more of a challenge than his regular Latin workbook.  I’m being challenged as well, and hopefully I can keep up with him.
  • Speaking of the holiday, we spent it at Grandma and Poppa’s house, going to the Labor Day parade (and eating way too much candy) and going to see their community theater production of The Wizard of Oz.  D was scared of the “black witch” although the boys have spent today quoting her: “There’ll be deviled dog for dinner.”  We don’t think that D has ever seen the original movie.   He asked questions all through the play and kept wanting to know when it would be over.  I told him that it would end after they found the wizard and got back to Kansas.  At the end he asked if they ever did find the wizard, so I think he missed some of those, you know, minor plot details. 

Now I need sleep.  Tomorrow I get to catch up on some of that badly needed housecleaning before I teach a bread class here on Thursday night.  We’ll see just how many of those 56 chores we can knock out in one day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    September 9, 2009 11:56 pm

    I am the same when it comes to red meat.
    I buy lots of it when it’s on sale.

    And my husband loves to BBQ in the summer.
    He cooked T-bone steaks when the Missionaries came over for dinner last week and they loved it.

    I love BBQ because to me it means I am not the one doing the cooking that day 🙂 and it’s also a variation from my daily pasta dish.

    I cook Italian a lot, I have lots of original recipes from my home town, let me know if you’d like some, or if you are interested in a recipe in particular, I’ll be glad to e-mail it to you.

  2. September 10, 2009 7:25 pm

    Yes, we are just on week 4 of the new school year and I just melted down on Tuesday when my husband called to check in! You think things are all worked out and then things go upside down!

    You always seem to accomplish so much though. I am trying to write down more of what we do each day so that I can feel good about our week.

    Latin sounds hard to me . . . a friend gave me the same book you are using. I haven’t even looked inside. I never have learned Latin – it would probably be a good time to do so!

    It is so neat that you play the cello. Music is important to our family, also. My husband plays piano and organ; and studied organ performance in college. He helps the girls out a lot with their piano practice. I am learning slowly how to play too.

    I hope your bread class goes well tonight. What kind of bread were you teaching about? I enjoy making bread especially now that we have a kitchenaide. I was kneading by hand before that and I didn’t have as much success as I do now.

    So do your older boys sit in on the Kindermusik class? I did Kindermusik with my older girls but haven’t with my boys. I loved it and so did they.

    Hope you can have some down time over the weekend.

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

