Skip to content

My kitchen floor is in shock

September 16, 2009

It has been mopped twice in the past 8 days.  I think I’m in shock too, the job chart is working.  Although judging by previous experience, I should probably wait a month at least before proclaiming victory on the job front.  These things never seem to last for too long. 

Knowing that though, I didn’t go all out and make a perfect, beautiful, color-coordinated, with clipart (for the child that can’t read) job chart.  For one thing, that child has two brothers who can read to him.  For another, I always procrastinate projects like these because I DO want it to be the perfect plan.  But my new motto is “Just do it.”  (Apologies to Nike)  It doesn’t have to be perfect to bless my family (Thank you, Flylady.) 

I clean like mad every time I know I have people coming to my house.  So why don’t I do as much for the  people who live here and would probably appreciate a little more order and cleanliness on a daily basis?  And why don’t I get them a little more involved? 

Yes, why don’t I?  Well, this week I did.

I took a weekly housecleaning checklist from way back when and just divvied up the tasks on it among the three boys and myself.  It came out to one job per child per day plus a few extras (so my list pretty much covers laundry, mopping the bathroom, and taking a turn vacuuming once a week, and of course assisting and supervising everyone else.)  We’re starting small.  One job a day is doable for now.  Once we’re in the habit of working together, we can add in the less pressing things like window washing and baseboard scrubbing.  We already have good habits with kitchen chores every night after dinner.  The boys also help fold laundry and wash their dishes from each meal (although we’re still working on doing it without complaining from the 4-year-old).

Three days in and we’re doing great.  I tried to assign jobs in one room a day, although we’re kind of stepping on each other’s toes to do that.  It feels like we’re all working together that way though instead of being spread across the house working by ourselves.  Here’s a wonderful article about family work by Kathleen Bahr and Cheri Loveless that I’ve been reading and pondering.  There are so many inspiring thoughts in it.  I love the idea of working together as a family, although experience has taught me that assigning jobs still works out well for us.  I need to see it on paper, or I have a really hard time getting motivated to do it.  It also helps to have everyone else see the work that needs to be done and how often to do it.  As I anticipate life getting a little crazier in a few months when I have a baby in my arms, I think this will come in quite handy. 

They boys really do want to help out around the house, or maybe they just enjoy checking off those boxes.  (I’m a box-checker and they are my children after all.)  And I’ve found that they are so much more capable than I give them credit for, even though I still have to assist them in many ways.  I still want them to learn how to do each job all by themselves, but if they can’t do that for a while…it’s ok.  It does not have to be perfect.  I’ll just keep repeating that to myself.  It does not have to be perfect.  We’re raising children, not slave labor. 

 Although I’m really enjoying how my house looks today.

Aside from my clutter…the big thorn in my side.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 5:00 am

    I’m remembering when my 2 youngest were littler and I overheard them talking. “Hey, do you want to play hometeacher? I’ll clean the house and you can come visit!”

    I laughed…then I cried – from laughing so hard.

  2. September 17, 2009 9:43 am

    It’s all about consistency (says me me who gets side-tracked so easily). It’s so nice to have children who want to help clean. Good thing you are taking advantage of that!

  3. September 17, 2009 9:44 pm

    Hi! Came across your blog from Darcy’s Not Back-to-School Blog hop. Yes, I’m a little behind, but the timing is perfect for this post! I’ve been doing a lot of thinking the past couple of days about getting my boys more involved in helping around the house and getting back to some of my FlyLady routines from years past. Your post is very encouraging!
    Plus, as a homeschool mom to a 6 year old boy, an almost 3 year old boy, and expecting our 3rd boy in January, I HAD to say ‘hello’! 🙂

  4. June 2, 2013 7:41 am

    You are absolutely correct! Delegating tasks is your best bet. I am now encouraged to continue with my Flylady routines I’ve been following the baby steps slowly. Drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

