Skip to content

File Folder Games

September 23, 2009

File Folder Fun is a new website that I just discovered over the weekend.  D just loves file folder games.  I made quite a few when A was in kindergarten and I’m always on the lookout for independent activities that the younger ones can do while I work with the older ones.  C really likes them too, but most of my previous ones were geared towards preschool and they’re just way too easy for him now.   So I was excited to find a new site with games sorted by age/grade level.  I also love that they have blank templates so you can customize your own games if what they have doesn’t quite suit your needs.  

Our main focus in math at the moment is learning facts up to 10 for C.  So I printed off the blank turkey and feather templates and made an addition game for him.  Just add the feathers to the correct turkey.  He’s already getting faster at it.  Next up is subtraction.

P9230038

I also printed out covered wagons with numbers on them for skip counting.  I was never diligent about skip counting with A and now that he’s into multiplication, I’m beginning to regret it.  I need to come up with a game for multiplication facts for him.  He is still having a tough time getting them memorized, or at least is having a hard time recalling them quickly.  Maybe a different format will help, or at least break up the monotony of those Singapore mental math drill sheets.

One of my favorite sites for free file folder games and other early learner activities is Childcareland.com.  I’ve made quite a few that D just loves to play with (or rather whips through and then says 10 minutes later, “I need more.  I finished all these.”)  The more pieces the better, so I made this number matching one for him:

P9230036

For all my enthusiasm, I still only completed two games.  More pieces means more I have to cut out, and I really hate cutting things out, especially with an ache in my right shoulder lately(that an angel of a woman at orchestra last night massaged out for me.)  I should really laminate all the little pieces as well for durability, but then I’d have to cut them out again and the boys wanted to play with them today.  I finished this one while A wrote out his dictation assignment this morning and it wasn’t too bad.  It gave me something to do while supervising.  Even if I only finish one per week, we’ll have quite the collection by the end of the year. 

Assuming, of course, that I find that elusive box of empty file folders.  I just had it a few weeks ago when sorting history papers for this year.  It’s probably in plain sight and I’ll slap myself when I finally notice it. 

If you’ve seen it, please let me know…

And if you have any other great file folder game sites, I’d love to know about them too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:49 pm

    Thanks for the file folder game info. Hmmm, as for your file folders, it’s hard to say. Mine are in my school bookshelf, standing upright. Otherwise I’d lose them too. In fact, when I changed shelves, I found them stacked under a stack of other things and had forgotten all about them. Standing up like a book, they are harder to lose. Just a thought. :o)

  2. September 24, 2009 9:33 am

    My kids LOVE file folder games too. My wonderful SIL bought quite a few books from Finch Family Games, scanned and colored them all on her computer, then gave us each a disk. All we have to do is print off a new one on cardstock laminate and cut. I usually print off a bunch to cut out while watching Conference. It keeps my hands busy. My older girls help so they can cross off some service for their Faith in God or Personal Progress goals. Might be an idea for A to help and cross off in his book. =)

  3. September 25, 2009 8:05 am

    I am going to have to make some of these. They look great! I love that there are some for the older kids too.

    I know what I will be doing this weekend. Maybe I can get Sophie to help with the cutting out. And I can put my laminator to good use too.

    Thanks for the links.

Leave a Reply

