Skip to content

Outdoor Hour Challenge: Cattails

September 29, 2009

We finally did another outdoor hour challenge last Friday.  I’ve intended to for quite awhile, but the summer ones were all about crop plants and I didn’t plant a single thing in our garden this summer.  Then, even though I know an outdoor challenge does not have to take a long time, just the thought of going somewhere other than our backyard, which is horribly ugly and overgrown this year (morning sickness and yardwork don’t mix), made me tired. 

But we were out and about on Friday and in the area of one park I knew of in the city that might possibly have cattails.  I was right, there a (very) few.  We ate lunch there and then tried to settle the boys down long enough to observe and sketch a little bit.  Here’s where I see the value of consistent nature study–we are sorely out of the habit of sitting quietly out of doors and observing.  I got a few minutes from them though.  I think it would have helped if we could have gotten closer to a cattail and taken one to dissect, but I didn’t want to wade through the muck.

P9250045

 P9250047

I’ve always liked cattails, but I don’t think I’ve ever realized that the cattails are the flower of this plant.  I need to get back in the habit myself of reading the Handbook of Nature Study, there’s so much to learnThe more I homeschool, the more I realize how much knowledge is out there for the taking if I but open myself up to it.

A sat and sketched for a bit:

P9250048

C sat still long enough to draw one cattail and some stems.  He’s turning into quite the artist at home lately, although he’s more likely to draw helicopters, trains, and bulldozers than nature subjects.  We just need more practice sketching out of doors.

P9270056

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 11:02 am

    Welcome back! I have missed your entries and it is great to see that you found some cattails to study this week. I think your journals are great. I am really enjoying the “graphicness” of the children’s artwork for this challenge.

    I always am glad to see your name on Mr. Linky. 🙂

    Have a great week and I hope to see you in the next challenge.

    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

Leave a Reply

