Skip to content

A new reason to love my library

October 5, 2009

Art prints!  I’m making a concerted effort to do art this year, and I just discovered that my library carries art prints for checkout!  We studied the above painting, The Marriage of Giovanni Arnolfini, last week and while the copy in Artistic Pursuits was nice, it was also only about 4×6 inches.  I printed an 8×10 copy off of the internet, but the brilliant colors just…weren’t so brilliant.  But the library had a copy and while it’s not the same as being able to go see actual paintings in a museum, it’s nice to get larger prints to display for a while at home so we can examine the details and really look at what the artist created. 
The biggest issue I have now is trying to find said prints in the files.  Van Gogh (and every other artist with a “van”) is filed under V, Van Eyck is filed under E.  Today I went looking for Mona Lisa.  She wasn’t to be found under D or V, but under L for Leonardo.  I was going to get some more Renaissance art, but failed to find any Michelangelo prints under either M or B.  I have a couple of weeks to stew over that one before we need them. 
And it’s hilarious to watch the boys who insist on carrying them out to the car in the required portfolio bags which are almost as tall as they are. 
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 10:02 pm

    I hope that the painting is portraying thier “married life” at least 9 months down the road! ;o)

    What a strange way of filing. Sometimes I wonder what people are thinking when they come up with “systems.”

    Art is so much fun!

  2. October 6, 2009 8:34 am

    I’ve asked my library if they do that and they don’t. I remember checking out pictures and statues even from the Provo library when I was at BYU and wanted it for a lesson I was teaching. I really wish our library did this. Pictures in a book just aren’t the same.

  3. October 8, 2009 11:08 am

    I’m soooooo far behind on blog reading, lol. I sure do love the photos of Bryce Canyon you posted a while back. We drove through (past?) there on the way home from our vacation this summer. The colors are just stunning!

Leave a Reply

