Skip to content

Fall break…kind of

October 11, 2009

This week we’re kind of , sort of taking a break.  Originally I had planned on a fall break right about now.  But somehow when scheduling history and science chapters and such, I kept going right up until Thanksgiving.  I feel the need to keep plowing on, in those two subjects at least, but we’re also feeling the need to take a little break as well.  We’ve had 9 really good weeks of school so far and I think we could ease up slightly this week.

Today I have a doctor’s appointment, a blood draw, and an ultrasound scheduled and DH just informed me on Saturday that he really needs to go into work today.  Can I admit that I’m tired of him working on his day off?  Although the nature of some of his work is such that it just can’t be postponed until Tuesdays some weeks.  And we are taking off on Friday and Saturday (just the two of us!!) so I can’t be that disappointed.  

Needless to say, the boys won’t get much schoolwork done today and won’t do any on Friday so we’re going to take this week (what’s left of it anyway) to do some catching up in history, continue to do chemistry, and learn about Leonardo da Vinci in art.  I think he deserves more than our usual once a week art lesson.  We’ll also begin the new FIAR book, How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World, because I bought two boxes of Jonagold apples last week and we’re in the apple mood.

We’ll also be doing Latin because we’re up to chapter 5 and learning noun declensions.  I have a feeling I am going to need lots of time to let it sink into my brain.  I also need time to ponder what we’re doing in math with C and D.  I’ve been feeling rather schizophrenic about math lately and change my mind daily. 

So there’s our “fall break”–history, chemistry, Latin, and art.  We’ll probably keep up on the memory work as well.  We’re in a good groove there and I don’t want to mess it up, and of course we’re always reading something or other.  Some break, isn’t it?  But we won’t be doing grammar, writing, spelling, or math.  So a light week it will be.

And maybe I can get the school table cleaned up and get rid of the plethora of papers floating about my computer desk.  There’s a weekly report still to finish as well.

I kind of lost my weekend due to a very busy day on Friday, and then I went to a Relief Society Retreat up in Heber overnight and in to Saturday.  It was great.  And cold.  Very cold.  It only got down to about 28 degrees overnight and our so-called “heated” cabins…weren’t, exactly.  Sure, they gave us one little space heater to plug in, but it really didn’t do a thing.  I was thankful for my 0-degree sleeping bag.  At least until I had to actually get out of the bag in the morning.  I stayed warm through the night though and was actually pretty comfortable, much more so than when sleeping on the ground in a tipi back in August.   But I still woke up quite a bit through the night and I was so exhausted when I got back home. 

So a light week will be a very good thing for me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

