Skip to content

Why is it some birthdays…

October 22, 2009

just make you feel more blah than others? 

Like today’s for example.  I don’t really feel any different than I did yesterday at 34.  But the number 35 is just so…I don’t know…35ish.  Some birthdays just make me feel older for some reason.  24 felt old.  27 felt old.  I really hated turning 29, and yet 30 was great.  31, 32, 33, 34…they were all fine.  35, not so much, and yet I should feel good about leaving 34 behind at least.  The past year has been one of the hardest years of my life I think, all things considered.  Although I wouldn’t trade in my experiences and (hopefully) gained knowledge and wisdom, not to mention a few gray hairs, to go back a few years or more.  (Except they’re not gray.  They’re white.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)  

But I’ve still been having a very blah week. 

We actually had a great weekend last weekend without the boys, driving to Capitol Reef National Park and then seeing gorgeous views from Highway 12.  We stayed overnight at Bryce Canyon, and then made our way to Cedar City to see one last play at the Utah Shakespearean Festival, all for my birthday (only 5 days early as that was the last possible day to see that particular play.)  But travelling while pregnant, and honestly just being pregnant overall, has been really rough this time around and I’ve had a hard time recuperating this week.  I feel like life is moving so fast and I’m just hanging on trying to keep up.  I’ve been sick.  I’ve been crabby. I’m tired.  Our routines are off.  My house needs help, and now that my birthday is actually here it’s almost a letdown. 

Although we’re doing no homeschool work today (even though we’re behind this week), no housework (I’m still sore from helping C mop the kitchen from our apple pie mess last night), and my mother is making me dinner and a cake.  So I guess I actually have quite a bit to look forward to!  And in typing this out I’m already starting to feel better about the week. 

To make it even better, “I must scream it to the world!” (Said with Luigi’s Italian accent from Cars.)  “I’m 35 today!”  And I would love to hear “Happy Birthday” from someone.  Because aside from my family, no one ever remembers my birthday, probably because no one even knows it’s my birthday.  So I’m letting you all know.  You’re welcome.  🙂 

Yes, I’m totally fishing for comments here.  It’s my blog and it’s my birthday, I can do that!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 3:03 am

    Oh Wow! I get to be the first! Happy Happy Birthday Cellista!! May wall your birthday dreams and wishes come true!

  2. Crystal permalink
    October 22, 2009 5:56 am

    Happy Birthday K!!!! Hope your week gets better and if it’s any consolation, you look younger than 35 🙂

    I say take the week off and relax your body, you and your baby need that 🙂

  3. October 22, 2009 8:41 am

    Happy Birthday!

    I totally understand about blah birthdays. Mine is in a few days and I really haven’t been excited for a birthday to come in maybe 20+ years. Your trip to see Shakespeare sounds nice.

    My hair too is growing in white and not grey. But the white hairs are a different texture than the others. They are sort of wire like and kinked (not curly, just bent here and there). But I refuse to color my hair. I don’t want to be an old woman with brown hair that I don’t know how to let go grey.

    I hope your day of relaxing and not doing school or housework feels wonderful! Enjoy your dinner and cake with family.

    and Happy Birthday again!

  4. October 22, 2009 10:47 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! At least your hubby didn’t forget yours. (He didn’t, did he?)

    Sorry you’ve been sick. After I talked to you on Sunday I realized that I hadn’t asked about how the weekend had gone. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I hadn’t even thought about you doing that much driving while being pregnant. Ugh. I’m not very excited to hear that you hated 29 so much…its still 10 months off, but I’m already dreading it.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN! That is cool that your mom is making dinner and a cake. Enjoy!!

  5. October 22, 2009 11:16 am

    Feliz Cumple! There now you’ve been “Happy birthday-ed” in a different language too! A little weekend away to see a Shakespeare play sounds heavenly. Enjoy our day!

  6. denise permalink
    October 22, 2009 11:46 am

    I turned the big 3-0 this year and it is really feeling old. Since you’re mostly blonde you can just call your white hair light blonde! Hope you had a nice day! Happy birthday!

  7. October 23, 2009 9:00 am

    I wish I would have seen this yesterday, but here are some delayed Birthday Wishes. Happy Birthday! I hope it ended up being a good one.

    It’s so true; 27 was a hard birthday for me too, but 30 didn’t phase me. I turn 35 in 2 1/2 weeks and I am not looking forward to it. Being pregnant really makes me feel my age or older too. I don’t know how those women who keep having babies into their 40’s do it. . .

    If it is any comfort you are an amazing person, doing wonderful things with your beautiful family. You have already accomplished so much with your life in a short 35 years. There’s something to celebrate!

  8. October 23, 2009 10:24 am

    Happy birthday – you are awesome! I always come to your blog when I need inspiration to keep going 🙂 I haven’t mentioned it on my blog (I barely blog now), but I’m pregnant, too, and it’s been great to come and read about you having the same tiredness and soreness. This has been the hardest pregnancy because I wasn’t homeschooling with the other ones or taking care of such a house full of people! I’ve felt so exhausted and defeated and useless! But it gets better. I’m due in 10 days and I’m actually starting to feel like my life might return to normal. We went camping last weekend and I thought I would die. I had to get up several times during the night and walk 1/4 mile each time to go to the bathroom. I feel your travelling while pregnant pain 🙂

    Now that it’s almost over, I wish I hadn’t beat myself up so much about resting and not getting as much done as I thought I should have. You need your rest and sanity – your family won’t suffer for it. I think its been great for my kids to watch dad take care of mom and do more chores. The kids have also had to do more on their own and have had more expected of them. I think ultimately all this time I felt was being wasted has been good for all of us.

    Have you looked to see if you were pregnant during the birthdays you felt blah? I feel blah about everything when I’m pregnant! You will feel great again soon.

  9. Michelle permalink
    October 24, 2009 9:20 pm

    Happy Birthday! It was weird turning 35 for me this year, too, just because I still somehow think of my mom as 35. 🙂

Leave a Reply

