Skip to content

Halloween: Let’s start at the end…

November 1, 2009

To put the most important part first–we are OK!

However, we were rear ended last night in the van on the way to visit my grandparents.  I spent 4 hours in labor and delivery this afternoon for observation after heading to the ER “just to be safe rather than sorry” since I woke up stiff and kind of sore this morning.  Last night I felt ok, besides being a little shaken up, and was more concerned about the boys (who said they were all fine) and DH (who was feeling some small aches in his neck and back.)  It was getting late when we got home, and nothing seemed to warrant heading to the hospital right then.  I wasn’t in any pain and I felt fine.  I tend to be pretty calm and collected in crisis situations.  The anxiety and stress always seem to hit later. 

They hit this morning.  I was stiff when I got up, but then I’m seven months pregnant and when do I not wake up a little stiff?  I had aches and pains too, although I wasn’t sure which ones might be new and different, especially after all the walking, standing, and spending too much time on my feet I did in the past two days.  I got ready for church and made it through sacrament meeting, but I was really starting to worry about the baby (I’ve been a little on edge all week over this upcoming delivery) and I kept asking myself, “What if?”  I asked DH for a blessing after sacrament meeting which greatly calmed my nerves and fears, but we still decided I should go be checked out medically after church was over. 

I found out just how quickly the ER responds to a pregnant woman in distress.  I was immediately taken back to be checked for vital signs, then they rushed me over to labor and delivery for observation, a full exam, another ultrasound, and a blood test–all of which determined that the baby is fine, very active, and as far as all can tell, there are no ill effects from the accident.  So I should be able to sleep in peace tonight. 

Which is where I’m headed.  Halloween costume pictures and all the rest will have to come later.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 5:39 am

    So glad you are okay!

  2. Crystal permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:57 am

    I am so glad you all are ok!

    If you can afford it or if insurance will pay for it, make sure to see a chiropractor. It is so important you are aligned so you can heal correctly and so your back and pelvis are in correct alignment for having a baby. Plus it should help relieve some pain.

  3. Nicole permalink
    November 2, 2009 9:13 am

    Wow! Quite the experience! Glad everyone is ok, you and baby especially!

  4. November 2, 2009 9:14 am

    Oh my gosh! I’m just glad you are all OK!!!

  5. November 2, 2009 9:26 am

    AACK!!! Not a fun thing to experience. SO GLAD everyone is fine and that the baby is well. I guess it goes without saying to take it easy for a while.

  6. November 2, 2009 9:33 am

    Oh my gosh! I had no idea. I’m so glad everyone is OK (especially you and the baby-and the boys-and B-and…I’m just glad everyone is OK).

  7. denise permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:57 pm

    oh, I am so sorry about that but so glad you are okay and that baby is well. I can only imagine how stressed Gma and gpa were to hear of your accident on the way over! I am looking forward to a few pictures of the boys on halloween.

  8. Michelle permalink
    November 2, 2009 3:16 pm

    Wow–glad you’re OK!

  9. November 2, 2009 7:40 pm

    Sorry to hear about the accident. So glad everyone is okay, including your little one! Rest up . . .

    Judi 🙂

  10. November 2, 2009 10:06 pm

    I am glad you are doing well and that nobody was seriously hurt. I hope your aches and pains subside and your little guy stays healthy and happy inside for little longer!

  11. November 2, 2009 11:20 pm

    Oh my! I’m so glad everyone is ok. No fun to have to go to the ER though, but I’m glad you were well taken care of.

    I’m still here and still check up on you! I can’t wait to see your costumes. I hope you were able to get lots of good rest though.

  12. November 6, 2009 9:03 pm

    Holy Cow- I hope everyone is ok. I take it you are …since I am a week behind and you are still posting. I loved the Halloween costumes especially the Captain.

Leave a Reply

