Skip to content

2 months to go…

November 3, 2009

oct2009ultrasound

If we’re lucky…We’re now only 2 weeks away from the gestational point at which D decided to first make an appearance.  Care to make a guess now on this child’s arrival date?  (And how do you get your foot up by your cheek like that?!)

At my last appointment, my doctor said, “The 26th and 27th are bad days for me to deliver a baby.”  I was thinking ok, I’ll keep that in mind, but really, why are we discussing the end of December already?  “We’re going to San Francisco for Thanksgiving.”  Then it dawned on me, he was talking about Nov. 26 and 27, not Dec. 26 and 27.  “I’d really love to see you make it to December.”   You would?  Since I’m not due until JANUARY? 

D’s premature birth has us a little spooked I think.  On one hand there was no medical reason for him to come early and it was probably just a fluke.  Which means it probably won’t happen again.  On the other hand, we really don’t know why he came early, so there’s no real way to ensure it won’t happen again.  To make everyone feel better, I’m now on slightly restricted activity: no hiking, no long walks, nothing too strenuous. 

So it’s a good thing I sit down to play the cello as I have a lot of practicing still to do for our concert this weekend, but that’s really only strenuous for my fingers.  And my brain.  Oh boy, will I be glad when Saturday is over. 

And I’m supposed to drink more water!!  Lately I’ve been hearing everywhere that dehydration can cause Braxton Hicks contractions, which I’ve been having a lot of since about 20 weeks along.  They’ve started that early with every single pregnancy and are fairly frequent though never consistent enough to get worried about.  But after the fourth person cautioned me about not drinking enough, I finally asked my doctor about it and sure enough he said dehydration can bring on contractions and pre-term labor.  He has never mentioned that to me before but now I’m feeling paranoid about my fluid intake. 

Part of me says that this is the way my particular body gets ready for labor and those fast deliveries.  But maybe if I drank enough, I wouldn’t have quite so many contractions!  Just something else to be anxious about, I suppose.  So I’m trying to drink more water more frequently, which is really annoying when I don’t feel thirsty but have only had two glasses of water by bedtime.  I just want to do everything I can to keep this child inside of me as long as possible.  I said I’d be ready by Nov. 17, just in case, but I’m nowhere close to ready.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 10:23 am

    Well, sounds like you know exactly what to do. Drink more, do less, and keep that baby in!

  2. November 6, 2009 9:01 pm

    Man I am so behind on your life…actually behind my life…which is causing me to behind on everyone elses. This is so exciting before you know it you are going to be holding a brand new baby. I wish I were you!

Leave a Reply

