Skip to content

Weekly Report 13

November 7, 2009

There was nothing terribly exciting about this week, it was just nice to get back into our routines after birthday and holiday excitement in the last two weeks.  Except for art, we accomplished essentially everything we wanted to for this week.  We have a pretty good routine going (although by saying that I’ll probably jinx us for next week!) 

Other than voting on Tuesday and an afternoon at the park afterwards, we didn’t have many outings.  I’m still kind of sore from our little car accident last weekend and while I’ve been resting, I’ve also been trying to practice enough for my symphony’s concert this weekend.  The boys have been incredibly wonderful this week to play together every afternoon with hardly an argument so that I could get my practicing done.  It was really a blessing. 

Here’s what else we accomplished:

Music: We’ve been listening to Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony in preparation for attending my orchestra concert on Saturday night.  C and D both went to Kindermusik, but A had to miss his piano lesson this week since we didn’t go to Grandma and Poppa’s house as Grandma was sick.

Art: We haven’t felt inspired to do Artistic Pursuits for at least the third week in a row, but I found an Ed Emberley book at the library on drawing trains and trucks and A and C have been having fun trying out the engines lately.

PB060244

Memory Work: Reviewed the poem on trees from last week, and began our next scripture: 2 Nephi 9: 28-29

Science: We talked about main group metals and specifically learned about lead and read a book by Salvatore Tocci.  We’re really enjoying his science books.  We didn’t have any lead crystal wineglasses so skipped our experiment this week.  That was one supply not in my budget!

History: We read SOTW chapter 12 on fire and plague in London.  We also learned about King Charles I and II and Oliver Cromwell.  They’ve been enjoying reading You Wouldn’t Want to Be Sick in the 16th Century.  We also read parts of Don’t Know Much about the Kings and Queens of England as a review, and read two books about London.

PB060247

Literature: We read William’s House about a family who leaves England during Charles I’s reign (1637) and tries to build an English house in North America.  It describes all the changes they had to make to accommodate the different climate.  It was very interesting, and the illustrations were beautiful.  I know the boys have been reading as well, but don’t ask me what. 

D (Preschool)
Math:
Worked with number lines and even filled in the missing numbers on a 0-99 chart all by himself

PB060245

Letters: Traced the letter J
FIAR: We finished rowing Three Names and learned about prairies, tornadoes, light sources and shadows, vanishing points in art, what a pet needs, how to play marbles, and one-room schoolhouses. They thought one-room schoolhouses sounded interesting and I had to remind them that that is essentially what we have going on here at home!  D traced Three Names and also drew a prairie picture with a vanishing point on the road and decided to add in a tornado as well.

PB060246

We also tried playing marbles.  DH has a box of old marbles from when he was a child, but he couldn’t find it so we did the best we could with no shooters and all the small marbles we found in other games in the house.  The boys had fun.

PB060243

C (1st grade)
Math:
Used Cuisenaire rods to create 6, 7, and 9, and to do simple addition. 
Reading: We can’t find the nature reader we were reading aloud together, but he is reading so much on his own, I’ll admit I didn’t look very hard.
Grammar: 3 lessons on nouns that name places
Writing with Ease 1: 4 lessons from week 12 plus one lesson left over from last week

A (3rd grade)
Math:
Exercises 41-44, multiplying and dividing by 8 and 9
Spelling: Making words plural that end in y, f, fe
Grammar: 3 lessons on pluralizing irregular nouns
Writing with Ease 2: 3 lessons from week 34 on Bunnicula and one lesson left over from last week (so we’re still behind one!)
Latin: Finished reviewing lessons 1-5

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:16 am

    I love history and a couple of years ago I read Cromwell’s biography.

    I was interested in it because one of my husband’s ancestors signed the death warrant for King Charles I and he was one of the few who weren’t imprisoned after the Stuart rule was re-established.

    Sir Thomas Ingoldsby, he actually married a cousin of Cromwell, Elizabeth, and reading the biography I actually learned that he signed the warrant under duress.

    If you’d like to know more I can send you an e-mail about it.

    Where did you find those cool books?

    The one titled “You Wouldn’t Want to Be Sick in the 16th Century” seems pretty interesting.

    Stephanie

  2. Stephanie permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:33 am

    Oops, I meant Sir Richard Ingoldsby, not Thomas, if I am not mistaken Thomas is his son or grandson.

  3. November 7, 2009 6:48 am

    That train and truck drawing book looks great. I am going to have to file that one away to use someday.
    I was impressed with your son’s number chart. My preschooler can count to 100 but is struggling with writing the numbers. He can write his letters but numbers are stumping him for some reason.
    All those history books look really interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  4. November 7, 2009 7:13 am

    The drawings your boys did are very nice, and I’m always so impressed with how much reading you do with your boys!

    • Anonymous permalink
      November 7, 2009 8:21 pm

      I love the Train Art work. I am going to have to do that with my little boy! It looks like you still had a fun week.

  5. Mom permalink
    November 8, 2009 7:39 pm

    Why don’t you buy the kid some pants without holes in the knee! Either that, or don’t take his picture.

    • cellista permalink*
      November 8, 2009 7:56 pm

      Somehow, I don’t think Mom left that comment, Dad!

      And these days if the kid will dress himself, I’m happy.

  6. November 9, 2009 8:48 pm

    Love the artwork! Are you doing BFIAR? I have a preschooler and just looking at options.

Leave a Reply

