Skip to content

Are we ready for this?

November 18, 2009
tags:

No, I’m not in labor.  But…

If this were 2004 and I was at 33 weeks and 2 days gestation, I’d be holding a very small 4 lb. 4 oz.  little baby D right now. 

But only between the hours of 9 and 10 (a.m. or p.m.) as the other 22 hours of the day, he had to be in an isolette in the NICU under the bili lights.  (Read the full story here.)

Yesterday came and went and no baby.  Woohoo!  I successfully made it past target date #1–Nov. 17.  I said I would be ready at that date, just in case we had another preemie like D.  I am absolutely not ready for a baby today, mentally at least, but physically I think we are ready! 

  • The crib is cleaned out after being used as storage for the past four years. 
  • The bassinet is out.
  • I have a drawer full of little baby clothes clean and ready to go. 

 I’m sure I’m forgetting things, but really, what more does a baby need?  Diapers maybe.  At least I’ll avoid the previous experience of sitting in the hospital, completely in shock from giving birth seven weeks early in the first place, but panicking over the fact that I had no idea where the bassinet even was, where the baby clothes were, and the fact that seven other small children were coming to our house in six days for A’s 4th birthday party. 

I do know that we still need a new baby carseat/carrier since ours was stolen from the basket at Walmart a few years ago.  And no, the baby wasn’t in it.  He was in the car in a different carseat and DH drove off without the carrier.  When he remembered and went back, it was gone.  Such is our life.  So we’re not quite ready.  While we’re admitting that, let’s admit that:

  • The boys’ room is still a disaster area from cleaning out the crib which has been used as storage for the past four years.
  • Both bedrooms are still messy from furniture shuffling.
  • There are stacks of clothes everywhere due to simultaneously divesting the boys’ drawers of the remains of the summer clothing, and rearranging whose clothes go where so there would be an empty drawer to fill with cute little baby clothes.
  • We’re going to need more than one drawer which means even more shuffling since we have absolutely no more room in which to put a new dresser.  (Yes, we were going to move before now.)
  • The washer and dryer have been going nonstop between our regular laundry (gotta love cold weather, when the laundry doubles in volume),  bedding, and baby clothes. 
  • We also have tons of baby clothes soaking today as it couldn’t be as easy as unpacking them and tossing them into the washer.  No, we are finding all kinds of funky spit-up stains that have shown up on half the clothes that have been stored for the past four years and we’re crossing our fingers that they come out. 

I am really amazed at how much we’ve accomplished in our two bedrooms even though any big cleaning/rearranging project always opens my eyes to how much more needs to be done and I want to do it all.  Today.  And that’s impossible.  It would have been lovely to have moved into a new house with more space and to have already dealt with all of our cleaning and clutter issues before now, but I am very grateful that since we are still in this house, between a bunkbed, trundle bed, and crib, we are able to fit four little boys into one bedroom. 

Now if three of those boys will just continue to get better. . . Ironically, in 2004 everyone except me was sick the week before Thanksgiving and I was worn out from taking care of them.  So my parents offered to take the two boys home with them after Thanksgiving so we could get a rest.  Ha ha.  Little did we know that we’d end up in labor and delivery instead. 

Fevers have finally broken here though and our next goal is to get to December.  I really have no idea when I’ll go into labor, but all three boys came early so I think it’s not too far off.  Although now that I told Brother G that, “Sure, I can teach the family history Sunday school class starting in January,” I’ve pretty much guaranteed that I’ll still be pregnant on New Year’s Day.  🙂

Our walk around the block today was pretty much one giant contraction for me though, so who knows. . .

While looking through old photos today, I found this one of D on his due date, January 13, 2005:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 9:22 am

    Good luck with everything…
    I’m also waiting baby #3’s arrival, with a due date of 12/2 but honestly it’s any moment right. My only prayer is that I won’t go into labor while at school (I teach).

  2. Nicole permalink
    November 19, 2009 12:21 pm

    Jeff and I have the car seat that Joshua has grown out of if you’d like to use that. It’s still in great shape. We’ve had it for about 18 months (I can’t believe he’s that old). Don’t feel pressured into it. It’s here if you’d like to use it. 🙂

    Also, I just found these AMAZING cleaning supplies that have taken out every stain that I’ve thrown at them (including a mustard colored baby blowout courtesy of my neighbor’s 1 month old, and a sharpie carpet stain). If those funky baby stains don’t come out, let me know…we can tag team them. 🙂

  3. denise permalink
    November 19, 2009 10:21 pm

    wow. It is so foreign to me to think of having a baby so early. All 3 of mine have been induced and would probably stay inside me forever if not for the drugs to force them out. I am excited for you to have little boy #4. I hope he waits a few more weeks so he doesn’t have to go to the NICU.

Leave a Reply

