Skip to content

Tensions ran high

November 23, 2009

From N. C. Wyeth’s Pilgrims about conditions on the Mayflower:

“At night, some ninety people slept in the area known as “tween decks”–most on straw mattresses on the hard floor…The overcrowding taxed everyone, and tensions ran high…”

A asked, “What does “tensions ran high” mean?”  I replied, “You know how we’ve been in this house together, not going anywhere for most of this week, and we’re all starting to get on each other’s nerves (even though we’re not stuck on a boat, our house is much bigger than the Mayflower, and there aren’t nearly 90 of us) and we’re starting to fight?  That’s what it means.” 

He gets it.

After what really was quite a lovely and relaxed week of school, we all had some major meltdowns on Saturday after being cooped up together for the better part of a week with sickness.  The lack of structure, lack of work, and lack of outdoor activity finally caught up to us.  The boys were picking and poking at each other and teasing each other endlessly.  I’d had it and I’ll admit I had yelled a few too many times by the time they finally got in bed and settled down.   

We essentially took last week off from their jobs around the house.  No more.  This week we’re back at it.  They need it.  I need it.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised at just how much they have been doing around here.  It’s really noticeable, especially when it isn’t getting done!    They need productive ways to spend their time so they won’t argue with each other.  Housework is a wonderful option.  We also have family coming for D’s birthday on Friday and there’s nothing like having guests as an incentive to clean.

A has the added incentive that he really wants to do his new puzzle from Grandma and Poppa so I told him if he helps clean up the school/dining room table, we’ll set it up Monday morning.

Other than that, we are going to take a week off.  Or so I had planned.  We need to keep up our scripture reading though.  We always seem to let it slide when we take time off from school.  And then A said, “Well, we’d better do our memory work too so we don’t forget it.”  Since we spend less than ten minutes per day on memory work, sure, why not?  I won’t argue with surreptitious schoolwork.

So I suppose we’ll be doing daily scripture study and memory work.  Knowing these children, someone will probably suggest we sing the Thanksgiving hymn we’ve been working on.  They were so excited that we got to sing it at church today. 

So now it will be scriptures, memory, and music.  A needs to practice the piano as well after taking almost a week off due to illness.  I intend to have some quiet reading time for everyone in there as well. 

Just where did that week off go anyway???  Let’s throw in some history and math as well and just call it school.

OK, we won’t go that far.  There’s snow to play outside in tomorrow morning.  They can play with toys indoors, although to prevent an endless toy fest (which eventually always leads to bickering, not to mention a chaotic house) for the next six days, I’ve got Thanksgiving bingo and file folder games to pull out when needed.    We have Desperate Crossing, an excellent film about the Mayflower, to watch.  We’ve also got lots of board games we haven’t played in ages.  We’ve still got furniture shuffling to do in their bedroom.  My computer desk needs serious decluttering.  The entire school/library/music/dining room in general needs serious help. 

I have about four books I want to read, birthday presents to buy, and I should really start thinking about Christmas plans.  I also want to write out my thoughts about where we’re at and where we’re headed in our school plans so I don’t lose track of where we’re going after baby and holiday happenings.  So much to do!  I highly doubt a week will be long enough, but I’m so looking forward to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 9:34 am

    I could tell that they have been working on the Thanksgiving hymn. I couldn’t help but smile as we were sitting in front of your family and I could hear C’s singing louder than anyone else in the congregation. Awesome!

  2. November 29, 2009 7:55 pm

    I love the start of this post- it really got my attention! You are my favorite blog and I haven’t been here forever! Guilt

Leave a Reply

