Skip to content

All right, get back to work!

November 30, 2009

Ah, the first day of school, post-holiday…

We actually had a pretty good day.  I woke up too early, but rather than try to get back to sleep, I actually used the time to read my scriptures for a change.  We still had a late start though as the boys actually slept in, including DH, who ended up covering a 6-midnight shift last night at the last minute for a guy who got stuck in an Idaho snowstorm and couldn’t get back to Salt Lake.  This is a harbinger of things to come in December.  Everyone knows they can always call him to fill in extra slots.  I was trying to add up all the overtime shifts in the next month DH already knows about and got up to at least 66 hours.  Can’t complain about the money coming in though.

It took some effort to get everyone settled down enough to start school (rather than play) as we are definitely out of that routine.  I was dreading the next few hours after our rough start, especially knowing that we hadn’t done written work in over two weeks due to illness and then a week off for the holiday.  But after scriptures and memory work, everyone was actually eager to sit down at the table together and get back into things.  Routines are wonderful things.

A got a workout with mental math at the beginning of his new Singapore 3B book.  Thankfully the lesson was short and C did his math completely on his own.  We’ve backed off math for awhile (and this needs its own post), but I think he’s finally starting to gain confidence in it again.  Dictation also went well for A, as did copywork for C.  D got a brand new cutting-pasting-puzzle book for his birthday and was very excited to get going on it.  I just love Kumon workbooks. 

I saw a quote by A. A. Milne the other day that I also love:

“One of the advantages of being disorganized is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”  

I should have this up on my wall.  We finally found C’s nature reader when we cleaned the entryway last week, so we finally got back to reading about wasps.  We both decided we are glad that, unlike wasps, I don’t prepare a home for my baby, leave it a pile of caterpillars for food, and then seal up the entrance and never come back to it again.  How depressing. 

Speaking of C, he has been a little reading fiend lately.  I think he finished seven books last week.  It’s so good to see him loving books, I just wish I could read that much.  He was very happy to see I had new books for him today when I came back from the library after lunch.  I had also planned on a fabric store trip today, but I was so worn out after the library that I came home, put my feet up, and read a little instead.  I think I’m only up for one errand a day at this point.  I guess tomorrow is the fabric store’s turn. 

We had the sister missionaries over for dinner tonight and we tried out a new cookie recipe–Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chunk cookies from the oceanspray.com website.  Probably not the best timing for something new, but thankfully they turned out well.  They were fairly simple too.  The boys are already planning the next cookie baking event.  They want to make thumbprint cookies (my personal favorite Christmas cookie), and gingerbread men, and don’t forget about cut-out cookies with frosting.  Somebody wants to make Christmas dinosaur cookies. 

Last year we were out delivering cookies to all their church friends on Christmas Eve.  I’ve already warned them that won’t be happening this year.  If it happens at all, we need to start much earlier in the month.  There are only 25 days until Christmas, you know!

Which reminds me, I have two advent calendars to do this year.  If I can only remember where I put them…

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 3:51 pm

    Sounds like a good day! Don’t feel like you’re the only ones who ever “experimented” on your guests: we had some friends in college who specifically, habitually, would try out their new recipes on their guests. Fortunately, we never got any of the duds, but they had some good stories to tell about it! After all… there’s always peanut butter and jelly, LOL!

Leave a Reply

