Skip to content

Why you should never have a preemie

December 22, 2009

Because the next time you’re expecting and you make it all the way to 38 weeks+, it will feel like you’re a couple weeks overdue.  It’s very weird.  I still have 12 days until my actual due date and everyone is already asking me, “Haven’t you had that baby yet?”

We’re getting exactly what we wished for–a normal, boring pregnancy.  No water breaking at 33 weeks.  No failure to thrive in the womb and subsequent induction.  As of today, I’ve carried this one longer than I did the two previous.  If I make it until next Monday, I’ll have beaten A’s 39 week record as well. 

My doctor’s goal was for me to make it to December.  Mission accomplished.  Here it is, three days before Christmas, and no sign of a baby.  I think he’s as surprised as I am.  He honestly didn’t think I’d go this long.  He also thought today would be the day and sitting here at 10:41 p.m., it doesn’t appear that Dec. 22 is the day.

I’m feeling kind of edgy though and slightly frustrated.  We were all so worried about having a preemie again, that I did nothing from about Halloween on.  No exercise, hardly any walking even, no lifting, no heavy, strenous anything.  I was a virtual sloth, and guzzling water trying to stay pregnant.  We got past the 33-week point.  Then we got through Thanksgiving weekend, which was the hardest psychologically because that’s when I had D so early, plus my doctor was out of town for 5 days and told me to please not go into labor because he wanted to be there to deliver for me.  So I was on edge all that weekend and then finally it was December.  And it was ok to have this child.  And…nothing…we’re still here.  I’ve been having contractions since August.  Somewhere we crossed the line from those practice contractions to the real thing.  (I’m not sure where the line was, but I know we’ve crossed it.)  Except for two episodes a few weeks ago, they’re not wanting to speed up, although I do feel like I’m progressing.

So now I’m on edge because I feel like we’re on a collision course with Christmas Day, the one day my doctor is not on call and will not come in, even for me.  Maybe I should have told him we’re naming this child after him.  (Not really, it’s a family name, and we’re spelling it differently, but still…)  Christmas Eve would be ok for him, but then I’d be in the hospital over Christmas Day.  Today would have been a great day to go into labor, I’d be home for Christmas.  Early Wednesday morning and maybe I could still come home on the 24th. 

I’ve gotten everything ready for Christmas early, just in case.  I sewed the boys’ new pajama pants plus a new baby blanket.  All of my presents are wrapped save two boxes that should come tomorrow.  Possible prep work for Christmas dinner is just about finished.  I’ve been filled with nervous energy and have had a hard time focusing on doing one thing at a time, but now that that’s all done, I’m not sure what to do with myself.  I should probably return to sloth mode, put my feet up, read for the next two days, and try to stay pregnant until Saturday at least.   

I don’t have a picture perfect Christmas in mind that will be ruined if I’m in the hospital, but I’d just rather be at home with my family on that day, of all days.  Any other time of year and I think I could really enjoy this time (save the heartburn, fatigue, aching pelvis,  and a baby running into my ribs, and let’s not forget baby hiccups–those drive me nuts!)  but I’m having a hard time relaxing right now.  While we feel incredibly blessed to even have the opportunity to have another child, this still has been my hardest pregnancy, and I’m about ready to be done with it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 8:37 am

    I really hope you make it after Christmas. I’m sorry we are going to be out of town until the 29th and won’t be able to help with the boys if you need it. I’m even more sorry that I’m praying that you’ll make it until we can get back! I’m sure you probably don’t appreciate that… If you do happen to need us tonight-let us know.

  2. December 23, 2009 9:52 am

    My SIL experienced the same thing you are going through. After all three of her kids came at least two weeks early her fourth didn’t come until 3 days after its due date so she felt like she was three weeks overdue! I hope everything goes well for you and that both you and the baby are healthy.

  3. December 23, 2009 11:25 am

    Each of my babies have come 5 days early until this last one. She came 4 days early. That one day was torture. You just get it in your head that the ordeal will be over at a certain time and when it isn’t it drives you crazy. At least she didn’t drag my past my due date. That would really have been hard! I hope your new little guy doesn’t give you any trouble which ever day he decides to finally make his appearance.

  4. Linders permalink
    December 24, 2009 10:47 am

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas, and a baby who waits until at least the 26th!

Leave a Reply

