Skip to content

We have a new winner

December 29, 2009

For longest time spent in Mommy’s womb:  The award goes to E!!

Now you can come out.  Really, it’s ok.  I’d love to have you come out.

This week is one of those “I feel like I’m going to be pregnant forever” kind of weeks, although my doctor assured me that no woman has ever stayed pregnant indefinitely before.  He and I are both terribly surprised that I’m still pregnant, what with my “history of early deliveries” (which I really think is a myth, or else they were just flukes.)  I’ve already had three false starts with this one though, the second of which sent me to the hospital.  And the hospital sent me back home two hours later after my body refused to dilate any more. 

Then last Wednesday I started having some really good contractions which lasted clear through the night.  I got about three hours of sleep and was just about ready to get in the car and head to the hospital when the contractions stopped cold.  Consequently I was a real bear on Christmas Eve.  Especially after preparing myself mentally to be spending Christmas Day in the hospital and then not having it happen.  I was not happy.

But we got through Christmas, which really was a wonderful day, and then the weekend and then through two more days.  I’m just so tired of thinking, “Maybe today’s the day!” when I get up in the morning, and then going to bed thinking, “OK, today’s not the day, maybe tomorrow.”  It’s getting old. 

I had another appointment yesterday.  That drive is getting old as well.  I’ve dilated 3 cm and I’ve gained another pound, which is also a record for me.  I’ve gained more weight than I ever have in previous pregnancies.  Although I’ve gained weight and I feel big, I haven’t actually grown in the past three weeks.  I’m still measuring 36.5 at 39 weeks.  So I got to have another ultrasound.  Everything looks small, but normal enough that we don’t have to induce, although it is tempting and Dr. N told me if I absolutely can’t stand it anymore to call on Saturday, or even on Thursday.  I want to actually experience going into labor on my own though.  I’ve only been through that once before.  And I really really hate drugs and IVs and needles and all that.

The waiting is getting to me though.  It’s that time of year when I normally want to organize and rearrange things.  Pack up the Christmas decorations and clean the house.  Rethink my life and make some new habits, new routines, and just have a change.  Change is coming!  Big change!  It’s just not here yet and I feel like we’re in some strange kind of limbo.  I just want to do something productive like…have a baby!  I’m tired of all my other little projects.  Everything just feels like busywork and so trivial.  I honestly don’t know what to do with myself all day.  At least DH went back to work today after 5 days at home and we tried to have some sort of routine for a change.  We managed to do jobs, quiet reading time, reading aloud, piano practice (for the first time in days) and I made bread, all before lunch.  Tomorrow’s looking the same though, and I’m just dreading it. 

I could go on, but I won’t.  I will share the only decent picture I had taken on Christmas Day in my very pregnant state. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 8:06 am

    Maybe he’s waiting for 2010 :)! Hope not for your sake. I’ve got 17 more weeks to go and I’m already dreaming of the delivery day.

  2. December 30, 2009 9:23 am

    It certainly looks like you are going to have a New Years baby. I hope he comes soon. It just isn’t fun waiting and wondering when it will happen. Good luck!

  3. December 30, 2009 9:37 am

    Is it bad that I’m glad you haven’t had him yet? I’m done hoping though. You have my permission to have the baby (since I’m sure that was totally what you were waiting for!). Call us if you need us.

    Oh, and just so you know, you look fabulous! You really do make a very beautiful pregnant lady…even if it has lasted longer than you would like.

  4. December 30, 2009 12:22 pm

    Waiting is so hard isn’t it? The only thing I liked about being late for my would have been December baby is that she has a birthday almost 2 weeks after Christmas. Giving us time to get Christmas put away before we celebrate her big day! Looking forward to hearing of the little ones arrival! Hang in there!

  5. December 31, 2009 2:13 pm

    I am so sorry you have had to wait so much longer than you expected. Two of my babies were a week or more past their due-dates, so I know what you’re going through. It really is some of the worst torture I have ever experienced. My husband always likes to remind me that we have to get to that “I can’t wait one more minute to get this baby out!” stage before we are mentally prepared to do what it takes to actually have the baby, but it is usually little consolation.

    Hoping you have this baby soon. Good luck!

  6. January 1, 2010 12:39 pm

    here’s hoping that you went to the hospital yesterday and delivered a new year’s eve baby, thus earning you a 2009 deduction:) hang in there– he will come, even if it feels like he’s holed up in there like a hostage.

Leave a Reply

