Skip to content

Weekly Report?!

January 16, 2010

I miss writing weekly reports.  I’m weird, I know.  But I miss looking back over our week every Friday and writing about all the things we’ve accomplished.  The past four weeks have been kind of a blur however.

First the holidays, then we had a baby, and well, things have changed.  🙂  In a good way though.  The baby is doing great.  He’s a champion nurser, and we’re actually getting a routine to our days together, although I’m still pretty exhausted. 

The other three boys?  They’re a completely different story. 

They’re going on four weeks with no real routine and it’s really starting to show.  Some days they’ve really been creative and have found ways to entertain themselves.  Other days they’ve gone a little crazy.  While they’ve showered the baby with affection, they’ve not had much for each other and have been playing a new game called “I’m bored, so I’ll pick on my brother.”  I suppose it’s not really a new game, they seem to start it every time we take too much time off from our school routine.  But this time, I’m functioning on a lot less sleep than normal, have understandably been focused mainly on baby, and have had a harder time directing their energy into positive activities some days.

The weather hasn’t helped either.  We’re trapped under an inversion layer at the moment and the outside air is just gray, thick, and yucky.  So we haven’t been going out in it much.  That’s starting to take its toll as well and the house suddenly seems much smaller than it did two weeks ago.  I’ll be so glad when the air clears and the sun comes out. 

For now, here’s what we’ve been doing inside the house.  (In weekly report format just to show how life is school right now. 🙂 ) 

P.E.: 

  • Run and get me a diaper!
  • Run and bring me a burp cloth!
  • Run and get this, run and bring me that.  They’ve been very helpful as I’m trying to heal. 

Spelling:  Learned how to spell E’s name.

Art: C and D have drawn, colored, and painted many pictures for E and for Mommy.  The wall around his bassinet is a veritable art gallery.

Music:  C likes to sing lullabies to E.  We’ve also introduced E to Mendelssohn, Mozart, and the Bach solo cello suites so far.  DH took C and D to their Kindermusik class.  A continues to practice the piano although we’re getting really sick of his assigned Christmas pieces.

Logic (or lack thereof):

  • A, C, or D: “Why is E crying?”  DH: “He’s _______(hungry, tired, cold, etc.)
  • A, C, or D: “Why is Mommy crying?”  DH: “I don’t know.  I’m not sure Mommy knows either.”  Ahh, new mommy hormones…

Science:  This has been the subject of the month!

  • Extensive labwork in human anatomy and development with all manner of accompanying questions:
    • What’s that thing sticking out of his bellybutton?
      When will it fall off?
      Why is his head soft in places?
      Why is his skin dry and peeling?
      Why do I have to support his head?
      When will he talk?
      How do you feed him?
      How does your body make milk?
      Why does he eat so often?
      When can he eat toast?
      Can he have ice cream yet?
      Why is his poop so yellow?
      What does jaundice mean?
      Why did they take blood from his heel?
      Why doesn’t he like to take baths?
      Why does he sleep so much?
      When will he wake up?
      Can I hold him again when he wakes up?
  • My body gets to reverse all the physical changes of the past 9 months. 
  • My taste buds have returned.  Chocolate tastes good again.  Oranges and tomatoes taste good again.  I’ve missed them so.
  • Why do my taste buds totally change when pregnant anyway???

Language Arts:  Primary focus has been adjectives such as:

  • Squooshy–Mommy’s tummy is squooshy now.
  • “He’s so cute!”
  • “He’s so tiny!” Mainly said by D along with: “His_______(fill in the blank: legs, toes, fingers, hands, eyes, ears, fingernails) are sooooo tiny!

Latin: D tells E frequently, “Ego amo te, E.” (I love you.)

Math:

  • Count how many times E sneezes.  He has these killer sneezes and the other three think they’re hilarious.
  • Count how many days Mommy can go without a shower or washing her hair.
  • Not to compare children or anything, but the baby that weighed 6 lb. 7 upon coming home from the hospital eats a lot more than the one that weighed 4 lb. 9 which means more sleep for Mom!  Although…
  • 2+3+3=8   So why don’t I feel like I got 8 hours of sleep last night?
  • Comparisons again:  D seems huge to me now, especially his eyes.

History:  We looked at D’s and C’s baby pictures on the computer and talked about their birth stories.  A’s pictures are unfortunately pre-digital and are sitting in a box somewhere in the basement. 

We did have our moments of what you could seriously classify as school.  We watched a video about big cats and a good adaptation of The Sign of the Beaver.  A has spent hours and hours poring over the new National Geographic Atlas of the World we got for Christmas.  He also spent hours sorting all the stamps he got for Christmas for his collection.  We’ve been pretty consistent about piano practice, scripture reading at bedtime, and quiet reading time most days.  A finally finished Harry Potter 2, then read Harry Potter 3 in two days.  C is reading The Borrowers, and we’ve read about 38 pages of Johnny Tremain together.  We also have an overflowing book basket with about 47 books on the American Revolution that they’ve been reading independently here and there. 

I thought I’d do a lot more reading aloud once the baby came with all the nursing time and all, but so far I’ve been feeling selfish and wanting to read my own books instead (I’ve finished three so far in 2010).  I also think we need a bigger couch if I’m going to hold a baby, a book, and fit the other three boys in.

Yes, I know the baby IS the lesson, but next week we’re going to attempt a little more structure in our lives.  We need it.  No, I’m not going to be super mom and jump back into our full school routine.  Honestly, I have no idea how to fit that all in again anyway (or maybe my brain’s just fuzzy still.)  But I do want to get back into our morning scripture study, review math facts all around (I’m scared to think about how that will go), and read some more of our history books together.  That shouldn’t be too stressful, but we’ll see how it all works out.

Favorite pictures from tonight:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 8:27 am

    Awww—look at all your boys! Adorable! Loved reading about homeschooling w/ baby.

  2. January 17, 2010 10:13 am

    Hilarious post 🙂 It seems we have very similar weekly reviews, and we’re not even homeschooling. Especially the PE part, since our little Kennedy has come along 🙂

  3. January 17, 2010 11:33 am

    Very cute post. This kind of school sounds like alot of fun.
    Blessings
    diane

  4. Grandma permalink
    January 17, 2010 6:48 pm

    I should have read this post before the phone call. Oh well, it wasn’t here last night when I checked and of course, I forgot to look until after I called. The pictures are wonderful! Life will get into a routine. You’re doing a great job.

  5. January 17, 2010 9:08 pm

    🙂 love your sense of humor! Thanks for taking the time to share.

  6. Mandy in TN permalink
    January 17, 2010 9:19 pm

    That was a very fun post!
    And another aawww for your cute boys.

  7. Gina permalink
    January 18, 2010 7:47 am

    That is great! I love your weekly report and I completely know how that feels. Congratulations on your new little one. He’s adorable and is very blessed to have such a wonderful mom and amazing brothers!

  8. January 18, 2010 5:12 pm

    I loved this report! Makes me nostalgic.

  9. January 19, 2010 8:25 am

    Fantastic post! Wonderful learning going on at your house!! The pictures are adorable. I would love to come see your new little one! I need to get rid of this little cold first, but then I want to come and bring presents!!

Leave a Reply

