Skip to content

2010 Reading Challenge

January 17, 2010

Let’s try finishing the post this time before hitting Publish, shall we?

It’s time for a new reading list.  I never came close to finishing my 999 reading list for 2009, nor did I accomplish my revised goal of 52 books in 52 weeks.  I did finish 42 books total though, which is pretty good considering that instead of reading, I spent most of the summer curled up in the fetal position on my couch trying to keep something, anything, in my stomach.  So pregnancy wasn’t good for my reading goals.  I didn’t think having a newborn would be good either, but so far he sleeps a lot, eats a lot,  I’m relaxing a lot, and getting in quite a bit of reading!

I’m sure that will change here soon, but I still wanted to have a reading list for 2010.  I really enjoyed reading a variety of books last year due to my different categories and just knowing I had a list of books I wanted to read was a good reminder to sit down with a book a lot more often than I used to (or than I used to think possible with small children.)

So for 2010, I found a reading challenge started by a mom on the Well-Trained Mind boards that looked interesting.  It’s the 20/20/20 challenge:

  • Read 20 books–2 each in 10 categories/authors
  • Read 20 books–10 each in 2 categories/authors
  • Read 20 books–in any category

That’s still 60 books and while I don’t expect to read 60, my goal is to at least read the first 30 books, which include a lot of titles that have been on my list the past two years, but for some reason or another I haven’t gotten around to reading.  I’m still looking for a few titles to complete the list. 

What are you reading this year?

 20 BOOKS in 10 CATEGORIES

1. History/Government

2. Historical Fiction

  • Prelude to Glory vol. 9
  • *Johnny Tremain (read aloud with the boys)

3. Biography

4. Parenting

  • So You Want to Raise a Boy by Cleon Skousen
  • Raising up a Family to the Lord by Gene R. Cook

5. Homemaking

  • It’s Here…Somewhere by Alice Fulton-Osbourne and Pauline Hatch

6. Religious

  • *Jesus the Christ
  • *Read the Ensign magazine every month

7. Scripture

8. Music

  • Joys and Sorrows by Pablo Casals
  • Song of the Righteous by Darwin Wolford

9. Young Adult Fiction

  • Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale

10. Nonfiction/Travel/Food???  Not sure about the last category yet.  Maybe travel plus food so I can read Julia Child and Calvin Trillin.

********************

 2o BOOKS in 2 CATEGORIES

Well-Trained Mind Literature recommendations

  1. Dante’s Inferno Cantos I-V
  2. Shakespeare Henry V
  3. Don Quixote retold by Martin Jenkins 1/16    349 p.
  4. Gulliver’s Travels
  5. The Pilgrim’s Progress
  6. Robinson Crusoe
  7. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Rip Van Winkle
  8. Perrault’s Complete Fairy Tales

Mysteries

  1. Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie 1/5    253 p.
  2. The Man in the Brown Suit by Agatha Christie 1/19
  3.  

********************

20 OTHER BOOKS IN ANY CATEGORY
(read alouds with the boys, other school books,
and anything else I find fun or interesting)

  1. Secrets of the Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg 1/13    276 p.

*Titles in bold are what I’m currently reading

One Comment leave one →
  1. Francesca Rose permalink
    January 18, 2010 12:15 am

    You are doing great!!!
    By the way, I HIGHLY recommend reading John Adams! It is such a great book that I went and bought it for my shelf so I can read it again sometime!
    I hate the inversion as well….clean air better come soon because we are really cooped up here at our house as well!

Leave a Reply

