Skip to content

Weekly Report

January 22, 2010

(What I learned this week:  There are many things I can do one-handed while holding a baby.  Typing, and therefore blogging, is not one of them.  Sorry for the lack of posts lately…) 

Last Sunday, D told me, “We need to do school again.  It’s been sooooo long.” 

Yeah, my thoughts exactly. 

So we tried, we really did.  Tuesday was a complete miss, but we at least did something “schoolish” every other day this week when we could squeeze it in around nursing, diaper changes, doctor appointments, trying to teach a baby to not scream whenever he’s laid in his bassinet, and trying to catch up on sleep.  Last week we had a pretty good sleeper.  This week…no.  Tuesday we went to the doctor for the two-week checkup.  That’s all we did.  I don’t know how that took the entire day and all of my energy, but it did.  I have no idea what the other three boys did that day.  I really don’t.  We also had to deal with mad baby on Thursday after E was circumcised.  That was fun…

Some days it seems to take two adults to care for one small infant, the other three get to fend for themselves, and somehow in the end it’s ok.  Everyone’s pretty happy, everyone’s needs get met (for the most part), and the house isn’t quite a total wreck.  Yet.

The boys have even been learning quite a bit on their own as they said they had already gotten through several of the books I brought out to read today.  “But we still want you to read them, Mom, so you know what happened!”  They’re so thoughtful and I’m so thankful for our history book basket!  It was nice to sit and read together again though and have some of that school structure back in our lives, even when we didn’t get around to it until after lunch and even though we’re still missing half of our subjects.

We managed morning scripture study three days this week and practiced their new song for Primary.  We reviewed math facts and as I predicted, it was pretty dismal.  Math is a priority for next week.  We’ve taken far too much time off of that subject.  Along with flashcards, A has been reviewing multiplication facts with 100-problem sheets from math-drills.com and C has done several addition/subtraction pages from Miquon.

We began memorizing just a part of the Declaration of Independence: We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

I was going to do more, but I think we’ll be lucky to get this one line down.  We’re out of practice with memory work.  Come to think of it, we’re out of practice with just about everything right now.  Except reading.  We’re always good with reading.  So we mainly read for history this week.  We read SOTW chapter 21 about the French and Indian War and George Washington.  They did the mapwork and colored pictures of Colonial Williamsburg and the Boston Tea Party.  Our longer read-alouds are still Johnny Tremain and The Bulletproof George Washington, and we read a lot of shorter books on various Revolutionary War subjects and people as well.

We’re also enjoying the Liberty’s Kids videos on Youtube (until the DVDs come into the library) and we watched National Treasure.  That counts as history, doesn’t it? 

I think that’s about it as far as formal schoolwork goes.  I also remembered to send D to Kindermusik this morning, which was quite the feat considering C did not have class this week and the days have kind of blended together.  D also went to a friend’s birthday party, Grandma and Poppa came to visit, and on Monday when I was feeling especially stir crazy, we drove down to Cabela’s so DH could spend a gift card.  I stayed in the car with E who napped and nursed while the other three went in to see the fish and stuffed animals.  Then we stopped at Border’s so I could get some books with one of my giftcards.  It was nice to get out, although it also wore me out.  It’s been so nice to feel pretty great again (instead of pregnant, huge, and uncomfortable) that I forget that I still have quite a bit of healing to do myself.  I have to consciously make an effort to take it easy and let DH do more for me than I usually do.  He’s sleep deprived as well though and with my up-and-down emotions this week, we’ve made quite the pair. 

This kid is cute though, so it’s all worth it!

Hopefully next week, I’ll be functioning on a little bit more sleep and we can DO a little bit more than just read.  Although DH goes back to work next Wednesday after being home for 2 1/2 weeks, so we’ll just see how things go…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 12:14 am

    What a beautiful baby! Hey, I’m impressed. I wouldn’t have gotten nearly that much accomplished with a new baby in the mix.

  2. Mandy in TN permalink
    January 23, 2010 12:20 am

    Great week with a new little person! I’m impressed.

  3. January 23, 2010 5:51 am

    I actually show National Treasure to my Civics class after we study the Declaration of Independence. I love to show the clip of him having to decide whether to save the document or his lady friend on the cliff as an icebreaker to how important this document is to Americans.

  4. January 23, 2010 2:38 pm

    Isn’t it great that our kids crave to learn and even ask for it. Even if it is “just reading” they get so much from it. You seem to be doing well. Keep healing and sleeping. The rest will take care of itself….. somehow?!

  5. January 24, 2010 8:27 pm

    What a cute baby! Yah for scripture time and all the reading you did. Sounds like slowly but surely things will get back to normal. Thanks for sharing your week.

  6. January 25, 2010 6:57 am

    It has been a while but I remember what those first 6-8 weeks were like after a baby is born, and I didn’t have other children to take care or teach. You are doing great for just a couple weeks after giving birth.
    Blessings
    Diane

Leave a Reply

