Skip to content

One month

February 4, 2010

Little E is one month old today! 

The past month has flown by, and yet it feels like he’s been a part of our family forever.  It’s a paradox.  Already it’s getting harder and harder to remember life without him. 

What changes a month can bring:

  • My body!  🙂  I’ll forego the before/after pictures, although I finally did change my sidebar photo so I’m not 8 months pregnant over there. 
  • The house feels much smaller.
  • The laundry piles seem much larger.
  • The days go by quicker, and yet the weeks seem longer.
  • Sleep…what can I say?!
  • D has grown into an awesome big brother.
  • A, C, and D have all accepted E and loved him unconditionally and have shown new capacities for service.
  • My abilities to manage home and family responsibility have increased.
  • Once again, we’ve felt the increase in our capacity to love and nurture as we’ve welcomed another child. 

And of course, we’ve fallen in love with this new beautiful little person that has come into our lives.  He is so incredibly sweet.  I never thought beautiful and sweet would be two words I’d use to describe a baby boy, but he truly is both!  (All of his brothers were as well.)  He’s already grown so much.  I’m sad that I’ve already had to pack away the tiniest of his clothes.  He’s becoming so aware of things around him and is already giving hints of the smiles yet to come.  I can’t wait to watch his little personality really blossom. 

Getting to know this little person has made those years of waiting, hoping, and praying for the chance to have another baby, completely worth it.

We still have our ups and downs, but daily life is getting a little smoother.  The other three are amazing helpers and it’s been so fun to watch them be excited about my pregnancy and about having a new brother.  When I was on my way to deliver C, I cried about the change I was bringing into A’s life and how it would never be the same again.  I had no idea!  It never is the same again.  It’s better.  Watching my children become such great and caring big brothers has been one of my greatest joys in parenting so far.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 9:02 am

    Happy Birthday E!! Cellista, you expressed the way a family grows and changes perfectly! Congratulations again and I’m so glad things are settling in so beautifully!

  2. February 5, 2010 1:17 pm

    what a happy post! i love how you have described you life right now. it just seems that you are having such an outpouring of this spirit since this little one came into your family! how wonderful!!!

  3. Stephanie permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:19 am

    I love your post!!

    That picture truly shows all E’s sweetness!!

    He is so adorable.

    Isn’t it wonderful how the oldest ones turn immediately into such wonderful big brothers?

    Mine did the same when he saw his little brother in the hospital, and since then he’s always been a wonderful protective big brother.
    All my worries went away once I saw how much he loves his little sibling.

    Steph

  4. February 8, 2010 12:01 am

    Aw! So adorable! Lovely week

Leave a Reply

