Skip to content

Weekly Report 20

February 13, 2010

I can’t believe February is almost halfway over.  Tonight I’m feeling like I could have done so many fun things for the Olympics, Valentine’s Day, and President’s Day if I’d only thought about it ahead of time.  Time is flying by these days and I feel lucky to just get through the regular stuff every day, without anything extra.  Maybe we’ll do Valentine cookies or something tomorrow for fun.

We had a pretty good week schoolwise.  I’m really trying to be happy with whatever we accomplish, and not worry about what we haven’t added back into our schedule.  Namely:

  • Science–The boys are eager for experiments, I’m the one dragging my feet here.
  • Art–What can I say, we hardly did art even before we added a baby into the mix.
  • Reviewing all previous memory work–We seriously need to get back into this habit, if only to see how much we’ve forgotten.
  • Latin–We did review our flashcards once this week and were pleased to see that the pile of cards A couldn’t remember was much smaller than the pile he did remember.  It’s a start.
  • FIAR and reading with D–This needs to be first on the schedule or it doesn’t seem to happen, although nothing happens quite the way it used to.  I do need to spend more time with D one on one though.  He’s kind of become a middle child here and could use more individual attention from me.

D is an awesome big brother though.  He spends lots of time holding his baby brother and is very vocal about telling the other two that they can’t have E because he’s not done with him yet.  There’s really been no jealousy there at all. 

Everything else went well.  Having a baby kind of helped us avoid the February homeschooling slump I hear lots of others are going through right now.  We’re just getting going and it gets a little easier to do school each week.  Here’s what we did accomplish:

Math:  C did Singapore 1B exercises 4-11 on number comparisons, graphs, and making groups of 10 and counting numbers up to 40.  This kid just isn’t math minded and is nowhere near having his addition math facts down.  But we’re moving on in his Singapore book anyway and doing math fact drill sheets every day and I’m hoping one day it will sink in and not seem like such a foreign language. 

D, on the other hand, is quite good with numbers and is enjoying Miquon math.  I may start him in Singapore 1A next year.  I really think the Kindergarten book would be way too easy for him.

A is doing great in 3B and did exercises 12-14 on weight (kg/g) and two review pages as well as multiplication drill sheets several days this week.  We’re going to add in challenging word problems one of these days.  (When I  remember to pull the book off the shelf!)

Grammar: C did 3 lessons on action verbs, A did 2 (possibly 3) lessons on past, present, and future tense verbs.

Writing: C did 3 lessons from Writing with Ease week 16 and gave me much grief over having to do copywork.  I had to remind him that he hasn’t had to do copywork once in the past two months so I didn’t have much sympathy for him.  A’s new writing book (the super thick Writing with Ease 3) has been sitting on the table all week and we just never seemed to get to it.  Maybe we’re intimidated by it. 

History: We finished up the Revolutionary War this week and played a review game called “Battle Blitz” from our Time Travelers cd.  C won, mainly because he has read just about every single supplementary library book I got on the American Revolution and recalled facts that we never discussed and ones that I don’t even remember learning.  Ever.  I love homeschooling! 

Besides that we read about Yorktown, Benedict Arnold, Molly Pitcher,and other women and girls in the Revolution. 

We listened to “The World Turned Upside Down” and other music of the period from the Archiving America site.  We also learned how to cut a 5-pointed star with one snip.

Or if you’re sleep-deprived, misread the instructions and leave out a fold, then you get a perfect 2 1/2-pointed star.  And that is why you should always try these projects out ahead of time.

Next week we move on to the Constitution and will also start learning about and memorizing the US Presidents.

Geography: Does watching the Olympic opening ceremonies count? 

In other activities, we went to the library and to Grandma and Poppa’s house where A had a piano lesson.  C and D both went to Kindermusik class.  We also all attended A’s cub scout Blue and Gold banquet Wednesday night, where he conducted the meeting and played “I am a Child of God” on the piano while the other scouts sang.  All the practice conducting our family home evenings has paid off.  He did a great job and somehow seemed so grown up standing up there. 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 7:14 am

    We had the best time watching the opening ceremony as a family last night, too! The kids were so excited seeing all the countries walk out, and my 6yo was totally entranced by the show. When I was in 5th grade, we did the coolest kind of unit study during the Olympics. We had a budget and had to plan a trip to the Olympics. It was a ton of fun and involved a lot of math and geography and other things. I think next Olympics we might be old enough to try that. A is so cute in his cub scout uniform. I just love seeing my 8yo dressed for scouts and watching him bounce out the door. They grow so fast!

  2. February 13, 2010 7:39 am

    That Time Travelers unit looks really, really good. Do you like it? Is it all put together for you? Or do you have to do a lot of planning/supplementing to really make it work?

    I think watching the opening ceremony definitely counts as educational!

  3. February 13, 2010 8:39 am

    I don’t know where I’ve been but I didn’t even realize it was already time for the Olympics to start until Ben came home from work and said perhaps we should watch the opening ceremonies! But the kids were so set on watching Emma on Masterpiece Theater (and since I hadn’t done any sort of preparation ahead of time) we just stuck with our plan. Perhaps there is a way to still watch it after the fact?

    So you’ve probably mentioned it before but where do you find your ideas for science experiments? My ten year old has been asking to do some experiments and science is not really my area of strength.

    Judi 🙂
    ilovapplepie@yahoo.com
    http://www.ilovapplepie.blogspot.com

  4. February 13, 2010 11:31 am

    Every day is an adventure. I may plan things, but my kids always seem to have other plans. Throw a baby into the mix and it is lucky we get anything done each day. My house looks like a hurricane swept through. My husband always has to remind me that this is just a phase we are going through. “This too, shall pass” is the phrase I hear from him all the time. But as you said in your last post I am grateful to be able to stay home with them. I really don’t want to be doing something else.

  5. February 13, 2010 2:19 pm

    What a terrific update! I’m fascinated by the many resources I’ve never seen before and I’ve taught that time period twice now. Going to go clean the drool off my keyboard now.

    I love your pictures, too!

  6. Keri permalink
    February 13, 2010 4:14 pm

    I think that you’re doing great, considering you have a new baby in the house. Love the pic of the kids around the little table playing the game – they all look like they are really enjoying themselves.

    Now off to look at some of your links… neat resources.

  7. February 13, 2010 8:07 pm

    You actually got alot done this week. Give yourself a break. We watched a little of the ceremonies but Grace got bored about halfway through. We are doing a lapbook about the olympics and she seems to be enjoying it.
    Blessings
    Diane

  8. February 14, 2010 4:23 pm

    Sounds like a good week. I enjoy the pictures of your children so much. Yah, for seeing the fruits of FHE!

  9. February 14, 2010 9:48 pm

    What a cute picture of them all cuddled up in blankets…and don’t worry about how fast time goes, you guys are doing what’s most important- enjoying and bonding with each other and that beautiful new baby.

Trackbacks

  1. A Week in the Life of a Homeschooler « Organic (Home) Education

Leave a Reply

