Skip to content

Weekly Report 21

February 19, 2010

It was kind of a short week this week.  I really needed a day off to catch up on housework and reclaim the kitchen from the weekend Valentine cookie mess.  In addition to President’s Day, Monday was also DH’s birthday, so instead of really taking the day off, we spent it in the kitchen again making a nice dinner and a decadent chocolate cake for him while he went to a movie.  By himself.  Because I didn’t want to see it anyway and especially didn’t want to take a baby to a theater.

I still need a day to catch up on the house.  It looks even worse now as I’ve had some bad nights this week with E and have been trying to catch up on sleep rather than housework.  Amazingly school went pretty well in spite of it all.

History: We read SOTW chapter 23 about the Constitutional Convention as well as two other books about the Constitution.  The boys colored the “Join or Die” snake drawing and A made a “3 Branches of Government” notebook page. 

We watched A More Perfect Union as a family and also played Liberty at Last, another file folder game from our Time Travelers Revolutionary War cd.  Here they are with their fake smiles as moments before they had been arguing with each other over everything–who sat where, who got to go first, who looked at who the wrong way.  We’ve had some attitude issues today. 

Memory: We started memorizing the Preamble to the Constitution, which also turned into a great vocabulary lesson. 

Literature: We read a story retold by Margaret Hodges from Gulliver’s Travels and also finished listening to Freddy Goes to Florida in the car.  Sadly we did not have another book on tape and noticed how long the drive to Grandma’s is without a book to listen to.  D kept asking, “How many more miles until Grandma’s exit?” and “How many minutes will it take?”  DH and I laughed later on about how many different ways could you say, “Are we there yet?” without actually saying, “Are we there yet?”  A trip to the library is definitely in store soon although I’m not sure what to listen to next.  A also finished Harry Potter #5 and started #6 and I think has been staying up way too late at night with his reading lamp.  I forget to go check on him, but we’ve had a few too many meltdowns this week and I think that would partially explain why. 

D has been doing more Miquon math sheets on addition, and has also had a few more reading lessons.  This week we tried blending with the beginning syllables in Webster’s American Spelling Book.  He does better with long vowel sounds than short.

C completed 3 grammar lessons on subject/verb agreement and one writing lesson from Writing with Ease.  DH helped him with this, but C complained that Daddy’s handwriting is too hard to read.  I had to rewrite a few words for him to copy.

Something also clicked in his head this week with math and he flew through exercises 12-17 in Singapore 1B dealing with tens and ones.  I’m still not sure he really gets place value just yet so we’ll be working on that next week.

A did a couple grammar lessons (I think?) and the first lesson in Writing with Ease 3 which had him writing out his own narration.  He did a great job.

In math he did exercises 15 and 16 on weight (lb/oz) and two review sheets.  We both decided that he could use more practice with concepts so I’ll be ordering the Intensive Practice books for him.  He’s also getting much better at his multiplication drill sheets.  We’re trying to go from doing 50 problems in 10 minutes to doing 100 problems in 5 minutes.  Daily drill is what it takes.  I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to figure that out.

And E?  I think he’s going through a growth spurt.  I’m crossing my fingers that it’s a growth spurt.  Feeding him every 2 hours as I’ve been doing the past few days is wearing me out.  He’s still cute though! 

Just exhausting at times. 

C has had a bad cough since last weekend, so we didn’t go too many places this week.  He stayed home from Kindermusik and their teacher was out of town for D’s class.  Except for one afternoon at Grandma’s house, where I taught a few cello students again, we were homebodies this week.  And the house looks it!  Tomorrow we’re going to have a cleaning day, then DH is taking me to see Swan Lake at Ballet West.  It’s my Valentine present.  I can’t wait!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    February 20, 2010 1:56 am

    We went to the theater on Monday too, we watched “The Tooth Fairy” 🙂

    I like A’s handwriting, neat and legible. Great job indeed!!

    I just love E’s big eyes.

    Enjoy the Swan Lake!!

    We have lots of fun shows around here too, mostly college renderings of famous plays, but we haven’t got the chance to attend one yet.

  2. February 20, 2010 7:32 am

    Great week! My son read, A More Perfect Union, this week also and re-created the three branches of government. LOL. I’m going to look for that DVD at Netflix!

  3. February 20, 2010 8:13 am

    My little one hasn’t been sleeping well either. She has a cold and teeth, I think, are going to be popping through soon. It does make life a little more difficult when you don’t get enough sleep. I always say it is a good thing they are so cute!

    I am always amazed that so much gets accomplished even through my haze. It sounds like you had a good week. I hope Swan Lake is wonderful.

  4. February 20, 2010 9:15 am

    Sounds like a fun & productive week!

Trackbacks

  1. The Search for Quality School Books « Organic (Home) Education

Leave a Reply

