Skip to content

Weekly Report 26

March 26, 2010

It was so tempting to take this week off for spring break, but I’m glad we didn’t.  We had a lighter week though so we could finish up some writing units and get to a stopping point with some math and grammar topics.  DH was home sick all week too and it was just easier to do schoolwork around him than it would have been to tackle my spring break/spring cleaning plans.  Hopefully next week he’ll go back to work and I can get all the things done around here that I want to.  That sounds bad!  🙂 But I have a hard time working on big projects and going gung ho on housecleaning when he’s here lounging around watching movies most of the day!  Can you blame me?

I do feel like we got to a good place with our schoolwork and I feel good about taking next week off.  I need to reevaluate where we’re at since our baby break and how long into the summer we’ll need to go this year.  It will take us until the middle of June to finish our 180 official days of school, but trying to finish some of our curricula by then will be interesting (if not impossible.)  Some things will carry over into next year, but others I really want to finish.  I’ve also begun to think about next year and where I may make some changes. 

Before I move ahead, here’s what we did this week:

Science: We did science!  First time since…November?  We started learning about nonmetals, specifically carbon this week.  We read a book about carbon and watched a video on the periodic table (which the boys said we already watched.  I don’t remember, but then any time we had a video going when I was pregnant I fell asleep.)  We also did a great experiment with yeast and sugar water producing carbon dioxide to blow up a balloon. 

Adding yeast to the sugar water:

Watching it begin to foam:

Topping it with a balloon:

Watching it grow:

And grow some more:

History/Literature:  SOTW chapter 28 on China and the rest of the world, and opium!  We had a nice little “Don’t Do Drugs” chat this week.  We read two Chinese stories and looked through Ancient China.

We also began reading Gulliver, retold by Martin Jenkins.  The boys love the illustrations and are liking the story so far.  I’ve never actually read the original and I’m enjoying it too.   I like to find accessible retellings of classics that we can read together before they’re old enough for the originals. (Sometimes I wonder when I’ll be old enough for the originals!) 

A read Fablehaven this week and is now halfway through The Legend of Luke, a Redwall book.  C has finished Viking It and Liking It, The Not So Jolly Roger, and See You Later, Gladiator all by Jon Scieszka, and The Boxcar Children  and The Yellow House Mystery by Gertrude Chandler Warner.  We’re almost finished with Alice in Wonderland in the car.

D-Preschool
Math:
  Has declared this his most favorite subject and did exercises 27-33 on number equations
Explode the Code: 2 pages and complained the whole time about having to write some F’s 

C-1st grade
Math: Review 5 (is now officially finished with Singapore 1A) and picked back up in 1B with exercises 24, 25
Grammar: 7 lessons to finish up the section on verbs
Writing with Ease 1: 3 assignments to finish week 20, has now decided he wants to read Hillyer’s A Child’s Geography of the World.  I love that Writing with Ease has introduced us all to so many new books that we want to read.

A-3rd grade
Math:
Finished up the sections on capacity in the workbook and the intensive practice book.
Grammar: Moved on to adjectives and more diagramming.  I should really start diagramming with him, it’s been years since I’ve had to diagram, and I need to be able to answer any questions he has. 🙂
Spelling: Up to day 17 in Sequential Spelling 1–We both really like this program.  I really like the word/spelling patterns and how each day’s list builds on to the previous list.  We also have fun seeing how many spelling words we can use all in one sentence.
Writing with Ease 3: 1 assignment, just enough to finish up week 3

That pretty much sums it up.  Spring break, here we come!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 5:31 am

    I love reading your weekly reports. No matter how quiet you think it has been, I sit in awe, wondering how you fit it all in!

  2. March 27, 2010 6:28 am

    Wow, that looks like a great week! You got lots done. And I know exactly how you feel about reading originals. Sometimes getting a good children’s retelling is the best I can do! Oh well, at least I’m a little more familiar with a classic than I was prior to reading the children’s version! You gotta grab what you can! LOL!

  3. March 28, 2010 8:00 am

    You balloon inflated quite a bit. Ours was droopy when attempting this. Glad you were able to get some schooling done, spring break will be here before you know it 🙂

  4. March 28, 2010 4:27 pm

    I lost track of you for a while–it’s ever so nice to rediscover your fabulous blog. I’m going to have to try the balloon/yeast experiment with my small ones soon–I think they’d be fascinated by it.

  5. March 28, 2010 7:16 pm

    Looks and sounds like a fantastic week! We’re going to do chemistry next year, and I think I remember reading about that experiment – looks like fun! 😉

    Have a great Spring Break!

Leave a Reply

