Skip to content

Monday

April 12, 2010

Which didn’t look like it would be a very good day. 

I ran out of printer ink last night.  I hate that.  I couldn’t print out what I needed for school and I started the day feeling unprepared.  And that was after losing track of time on Saturday and not even getting to school planning for the week until Sunday night.  I really don’t like doing that.  I’ve got to take better control of my weekends so Sundays can be more restful.

DH took the baby out this morning after I fed him and without even thinking twice about it, I fell back to sleep.  When I woke up, I felt behind and I hadn’t even started the day yet.

I did wake up to find breakfast eaten, the dishes washed, and scripture study started without me.  DH wanted to know how much scripture study we do in the mornings when he’s not here.  I really don’t know.  Sometimes it’s a chapter.  Sometimes less.  Sometimes we read every section in our study guide.  Sometimes we just read the chapter alone and discuss.  Sometimes we cheer when the chapter is short.  I finally said that we do what feels right and I don’t go past their attention spans.

After that, I think the boys were ready to jump back into school this week, a definite change from last week.  By lunchtime they had completed math, grammar, writing, spelling, DH read FIAR books with D, and I had taken a shower.  Maybe we really do like having DH home in the mornings.  We’d better, he switches to the afternoon shift next month–2 to midnight, or 2:30 to 12:30, something like that…he’ll be here every day for school.  (More on that later.)

I fed E while we ate lunch, then we did history reading about Lewis and Clark (and their dog) and watched a video about their expedition.  A practiced piano while DH took E with him to buy printer ink for me, and then other three had time to construct an elaborate train track all over the living room while I remembered to put dinner in the crockpot. 

Then we all went grocery shopping with two cars.  I always think that having a van means we have lots of room for stuff.  But with four children now with their assorted carseats and strollers, there’s not much room left over, and it was the case lot sale at Macey’s.  I’ve been looking forward to this, not to mention saving up for it, for weeks.  So DH drove the Stratus so he could bring all my cases of food home for me. 

I’m not what you would call a shopper by any means, but I really love to grocery shop.  I’m weird, I know.  It’s just so satisfying to be able to fill up a pantry with food for my family.  We’ve really been trying to work on getting our year’s supply of food as we have been counseled.  I’m not even sure what a year’s supply (for six people now) looks like, but we add to it as we are able.  One of  my goals is to figure out exactly what we have and what else we need to have a basic supply.  We added quite a lot to it today.  Quite a lot!  We filled up an initial caselot cart and sent DH to checkout twice while we got our regular shopping items. 

As we walked out of the store, I said to DH, “Now wasn’t that fun?”  He replied, “You weren’t the one who had to load it all into the car.”  We helped him unload though.  Our family home evening was spent carrying cans to the basement, where I went through our can rotator shelves and pulled anything that was outdated.  The whole point of rotating cans is to use up the old before the new, but somehow expiration dates weren’t checked when the rotation system first got put up last summer and I’ve noticed old cans showing up.  We had a lot of bags of foodstuffs just sitting around not even on shelves as well that we cleaned up and organized.  It looks a lot nicer now and I can see what we’ve got.  I still need to inventory all my #10 cans of various mixes and dehydrated/powdered stuff, but we got a lot accomplished. 

We had more scripture reading after that and the boys all went to sleep fine (after both A and C had to come out to tell us all about the books they had just completed), even E who hadn’t been asleep since 3:00 when we first got to Macey’s and then I even exercised tonight!! 

I’ve had a few not so great days lately and it feels so good to have had a day where literally everything went right for a change, despite my initial outlook.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 10:29 pm

    I hardly ever “go shopping” but I do have a great time stocking my shelves with groceries and food storage. For some reason there is a lot of satisfaction from having a well stocked pantry. It is so nice to just walk over to the cabinets and pull out what you need.

    I am glad you had such a great day. It sounds like you got a lot done!

Leave a Reply

