Skip to content

I’m a sucker for cheap books

April 28, 2010

For less than 10 bucks, I netted 12 hardbacks, 11 paperbacks, and a book on cd at the library book sale, including:

  • Hans Brinker
  • Mirette on the High Wire (a Five in a Row book for D)
  • Gorillas (love Seymour Simon’s science books!)
  • Starry Messenger–a wonderful picture biography of Galileo that we read last year
  • The Last of the Mohicans
  • The Red Badge of Courage
  • Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
  • Washington Square
  • At least 7 historical fiction books for the boys for next year’s history cycle and
  • The Norton Anthology of English Literature (What can I say? It was only 50 cents.)

I would have gotten quite a lot more, but I was at the limit of what I could reasonably carry.  I even resisted the urge to go back the next day when it was $5 for as many books as you could fit in a bag, knowing that every book I buy will have to be packed up and moved to a new house in the near future.  I already hate to think how many boxes of books we’ll have.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 2:24 pm

    I love library book sales! Looks like your library had some great finds. I just recently raided our library too and got a bunch of books we needed for next year.

Leave a Reply

