Skip to content

The lunch lady is back

May 6, 2010

I read a blog post a while back about a homeschool mom who said what she really needs is a room mother.  You know–someone to make phone calls, clean up after projects, plan parties, assist with field trips, and surprise the teacher with home-baked goodies.  🙂

What I’ve always wanted is a lunch lady.  I hate making lunch.  I don’t know if it’s because we’re eating the same thing almost every day and I can’t come up with anything new, or if it’s because we always seem to be in the middle of learning together at lunchtime and I just don’t want to stop to fix food.  I don’t mind doing breakfast and I quite like to cook dinner.  It’s just lunch.

So I, lovingly of course, refer to DH as my lunch lady (sans the hair net and unappetizing typical school lunch fare.)  If he’s home, he’ll make lunch for me.  I love it.  The past four months have been hard though as he changed work assignments and hasn’t been able to come home for lunch anymore.  I’ve missed him.  I’ve missed his lunches. 

It’s been quite the adjustment altogether.  Being to work at 6:30 a.m. after some sleepless nights with a baby was just rough.  So he put in for another change and now he’s working the afternoon shift four days a week. 

I now get to deal with dinner time by myself which involves making dinner, feeding a baby, eating dinner, bathing a baby, supervising kitchen chores, feeding a baby again, and doing bedtime routines with the boys.  Tonight was a little crazy.  The boys were not cooperative after dinner and ended up going to bed with no reading time, which is about the worst possible punishment around here.  We had a good talk about how everyone needs to step up and help Mommy out a little more now since Daddy is working during dinnertime and bedtime and life with a baby can still be a little crazy at times.  I think they got the message, but it could be another long four months on this work schedule.

But I have my lunch lady back!  He’s also functioning as the P.E. instructor now and is trying to take the boys on a long walk and have them do exercises in the mornings before breakfast.  We’ve had a pretty great week so far.  It’s nice to get some energy burned off before we sit down to our bookwork. 

The boys used to view DH’s days off as their days off too and we had a horrible time sticking to any kind of routine when he was home so I was kind of dreading him being home every day during our school time.  He’s very encouraging of our school work though and has made it a point to help me with our daily routines.  The boys are getting used to him being here and I think this is going to work out just fine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    May 6, 2010 9:47 am

    I hope the new schedule works out well for you. I struggle when Jon isn’t home at night-and I only have 1 kid!

  2. May 8, 2010 9:06 am

    yay for lunch ladies…..or the lunch man? =)

  3. Stephanie permalink
    May 10, 2010 1:20 am

    I am not a fan of making lunch either.

    And my two toddlers tend to be pickier that time of the day, and on weekends when Daddy is home they are so busy watching Daddy working on some project that they are not even remotely interested in food.

    They just fill their bellies with milk and I get very frustrated because I’d like for them to eat more solids.

    Hope your Mother’s Day was Great!!

Leave a Reply

