Skip to content

My child? Calm?

May 14, 2010

The boys’ Kindermusik teacher mails out a letter every few months to tell us about what they’re learning in class and always includes a personal note.  Her latest one said that C was such fun to teach and that he has such a calming influence on his class.  My first thought was, “Are you talking about my child?”  Then I started thinking about the other kids in his class and I had to agree that he is one of the calmer children there. 

Personalities aside, I think that if C had spent an entire day at school before his 5:15 p.m. class, he might be just as rambunctious as some of the other children.   He certainly lives life exuberantly at other times.  As it is, after a day of homeschool where he really spends very little time sitting down quietly, he is quite willing and happy to sit still, pay attention, and concentrate on learning music for an hour every Wednesday afternoon. 

This week was fun as we went to his Kindermusik graduation and fiesta.  Each child got to play a song for the parents.  C chose “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” on the glockenspiel and did a great job. 

Before we ate dinner together, they took turns hitting a pinata.

C with his graduation certificate and a set of maracas from Miss Marilee: 

He’s really enjoyed being in Kindermusik this year and has been learning so much.  I really love the Kindermusik program, although I’m glad it’s over for the year.  I’m the one that doesn’t like the 5:15 class time!  I’ve had it with rush hour traffic leaving downtown and being gone through dinner time.  Especially with DH working late now and doing the entire evening routine myself, I’m looking forward to staying at home, eating dinner at a normal hour, and getting the boys to bed before 9:45 p.m.!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 9:00 am

    So nice to have positive feedback about our children, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

