Skip to content

Observations on a week

May 24, 2010

Wow, it’s been a week since I blogged about something.  Which isn’t really surprising considering the last week of my life which included cello students, one sleepover at Grandma’s house, one out of state mini-vacation, searching through approximately 6789 photos that document my life to come up with a scrapbook page or three (and stressing that every time I got ready to work on something E would wake up again), a little bit of schooling, a baby who’s in the habit of waking up screaming practically every night around 2 a.m., my resulting bleary-eyed state, a husband who was working 5 of the last 7 evenings, and a 9-year-old who is so enamored of the Fablehaven books that he feels he must give me a play-by-play of the action every evening (while I’m screaming inside that if DH has to work until midnight, can I at least have a little peace and quiet time to myself?  Go to bed!)

Other observations:

  • The mini vacation: My grandpa turned 90.  Or as D put it, “Wow!  That’s pretty old!”
  • We went to Idaho.  It snowed.  As my aunt said when asked why we didn’t plan the party for outdoors:  “Because it’s May.”
  • I forgot that travelling with a baby overnight requires just as much “stuff” as going for a week.
  • Add in a cello and it was one packed van.
  • C woke up in the hotel Saturday morning and promptly threw up.  (Which was hardly surprising considering the m&m’s, goldfish, and teddy grahams he ate in the car on the way up on Friday, the pop my uncle gave him, and I think there was a corn dog consumed in there somewhere too.  Not exactly healthy eating.)
  • DH is seriously rethinking his snack choices for road trips.  Junk food just sounds so fun every once in a while, but we need real food.  Really, we do.
  • My grandma remarked that she doesn’t know how I do all I do, referring to practicing the cello with all these little ones around.  I had to say that I really don’t do it.  Not these days anyway and I’m grateful that all those years of practice are paying off and I can perform a solo without tons of preparation.  Although I was practicing Thursday night around 11 p.m.–when E was finally asleep and I was attempting to find a dress that I could both play my cello and nurse a baby in. 
  • Speaking of what else I’m not doing: Scrapbooking.  Scrapbooking and babies don’t mix.  I sort of knew that already.  A is the only child with any semblance of a baby book.  I don’t really do scrapbooking anyway, at least not in the super creative with tons of fancy papers and embellishments sense.  But I really wish I had more photos in books for the boys to look at.  They love looking at family pictures. We had tons of fun looking through pictures together this week.  D was very cute asking me, “Was that you as a child?” 

Now I’m very much looking forward to a week with nowhere to go.  We are so off our routines, it’s not even funny.  E needs to relearn how to sleep.  We need to clean the house.  We’ve hardly been here since last Wednesday morning and it’s still terrible looking.  Tomorrow we clean up.  And we can concentrate on school now.  We still need to put in about four more weeks before we can take a longer break.  The past month has been so busy and we’ve let schoolwork slide a bit.  If E will let me get a little more sleep (knock on wood) I think we can do some great things in the next month.  Now I’m off to bed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 24, 2010 8:29 am

    Wow! You’re doing great. I love your comments abut snacks, throwing up and listening to a son talk about Fablehaven. I remember J. telling me that life was teaching her patience and asking if I was more patient. Me? I think now I am. But I am still working on it.

  2. May 24, 2010 9:16 am

    If A needs anyone to talk Fablehaven with, Jon and I are here! I loved the books…but Jon put them about Harry Potter (I just don’t quite agree).

    Now I more fully understand the look on your face yesterday. It was beyond exhausted. It didn’t look very amused that Tae insisted on showing me Baby E while he was screaming in has car seat.

    And I had to laugh about your not having time to practice. I’ve wondered how you are able to find time with everything else you do. Violin has become something that makes me feel guilty because I don’t practice…unfortunately I don’t have the years of experience to fall back on.

    • cellista permalink*
      May 24, 2010 11:22 am

      Besides the underlying sheer exhaustion, my unamused look yesterday was due to not being able to find B who told me I didn’t need to take my keys to church because he’d be back to our ward before church was over so he could walk me home and carry E, who’s really getting heavy. After carrying E around myself all through Sunday School trying to get him to go to sleep and my left arm was killing me, he finally went to sleep (for someone else), then he woke up the last 3 minutes of Relief Society and screamed his head off right when I was supposed to give the closing prayer. Then I couldn’t find my husband, I was locked out of my house, and felt like I needed a good cry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

