Skip to content

Meet Lafayette

May 25, 2010

He’s the silver one.  The orange one is named John Hancock.  They are C’s new fish.  For months, he’s been telling us that he wanted goldfish for his birthday, so yesterday DH took him shopping and they came back with a couple of platys plus a small fishbowl and a shark thing for them to swim around and through.  He was very excited.

He was even more excited this morning when he came in to tell me that his fish had babies!  Sure enough, there were at least three other tiny fish swimming around that weren’t there yesterday. 

Great, DH–Of all the fish in the tank, you had to pick the pregnant one!

So I’ve been researching platys today.  (I know, I’m the picture of responsible pet ownership and I should have done that before we ventured into this, but I figured how hard can it be?  I wasn’t planning on the number of fish multiplying quite like it did.)  Platys are very easy to breed, assuming that’s what you want to do.  If you have a male and female, they WILL mate.  In fact, according to one website, “males try to mate frequently and can sometimes exhaust and frighten females kept alone with them.”   Oh, that’s lovely.  I have no idea if we have male fish, female fish, or one of each, and what the ratio will be when all those little babies are factored in.

One thing I do know, John Hancock was probably not the most appropriate name for a mother fish, and we’re going to need a bigger fishbowl!

I’d rather just get a dog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Harrington DeVogel permalink
    May 26, 2010 12:07 am

    Maybe the dog is inevitable!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    May 26, 2010 1:06 am

    We have cats and fish as well, the cats always hope we leave the lid open, it’s a big tank, I find cats sitting on it in the morning.

    There are a few frogs in it, the kids are fascinated by the frogs, they leave the fish alone most of the time.

    Which I am happy.

    I dread the thought of 40 gallons of water all over our living room.
    And broken glass too.

    I am not a fish person, unless I am fishing or I am cooking fish 🙂

  3. May 26, 2010 3:11 pm

    That is very funny.
    Blessings
    Diane

Leave a Reply

