Skip to content

Week 35

June 4, 2010

I’ve felt off this entire week.  Monday holidays will do that.  We slept overnight at Grandma and Poppa’s house Sunday so we could go to the cemetery with them to visit my brothers’ and sisters’ graves. 

Wednesday we had a homeschool field day, but it felt like Friday which is normally when we have park day with the same group.  I also gave my students the week off from cello lessons and every day has felt a little weird!  For a short week though, we got a lot accomplished.

FIAR: We finished rowing Andy and the Lion this week.  We’ve really enjoyed this book.  Some of our activities and discussions included:

  • Learning about lions
  • Talking about the great action in the illustrations
  • Talking about how the author didn’t finish a sentence until you turn the next page.  That kept us reading.
  • Learning what tall tales are
  • Writing out the title for copywork
  • Learning some new vocabulary
  • Reading some other great books about lions
  • Reading The Lion and the Mouse and retelling the story (I wrote it down for him, but he took the picture–I love the toes!)

History: We learned about early Texas history this week and talked about Santa Anna, Davy Crockett, and the Alamo.  A did a fill-in-the-blank and wordsearch from the SOTW Activity Guide.  They all colored the Alamo and did a narration page for their notebooks.  We also read two books about Davy Crockett and watched a Tall Tales and Legends video about him, although the “learning is not cool” attitude portrayed by the middle school students in the video was appalling.  The worst offender is the one who gets sucked into the history book about Davy Crockett and has a change of heart by the end of the video, but still…another reason I’m happy I homeschool.  So far my kids think learning is awesome, especially history, and there is no peer pressure to think otherwise.

The boys also worked on their Growth of the Nation maps, completing the 1820 and the 1850 overlay, which essentially shows the US boundaries as they are today.  They are also thrilled about the maps that came in the mail for our geography program next year.  C said, “Oh, I wish we could start it this week.”

Literature: We began reading Carry On, Mr. Bowditch aloud and they love it.  A read Swift Rivers by Cornelia Meigs and C has been rereading some easy books we have around here.  I need to be better about making sure he reads something challenging each day. 

Memory: We are memorizing Alma 32:21  And now as I said concerning faith–faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.

Latin: A and I finished Latina Christiana lesson 9.  At 1 lesson every two weeks, we may finish some day.  A’s really understanding the grammar, but I can see that we need much more drill on the vocabulary.  We just read about Nathaniel Bowditch learning Latin though and while we aren’t learning Latin so we can read Newton’s Principia like Nat, A really likes it when he is learning the same things as characters in books he enjoys.

Math: A is cruising through the end of his math book.  He learned about angles, perimeter, and area this week.  C is still going strong as well and D finished a couple of exercises.  I haven’t diligent at all about working with him lately.  Next year he’ll be official though and I’ll have to juggle three students’ work.  I sense some changes coming…

Language Arts: C completed 4 assignments in Writing with Ease pertaining to the Little House books.  A did one dictation assignment.  I think he’s got spring fever.  There was sure some dawdling going on all week.  We didn’t do spelling either this week.  Oh well.  He’s moving along in grammar.  5 more lessons to go.  I see the end in sight!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink
    June 5, 2010 6:54 am

    Ahh Texas History, such fun! Being from Texas, I think this is the only history I remember, they really drill into you 🙂 There is such pride in this state 🙂

    • cellista permalink*
      June 5, 2010 3:12 pm

      I think this is the first time in my life I ever remember learning about the Alamo! I love Story of the World. It’s giving me my second education!

  2. June 5, 2010 8:10 am

    I honestly don’t know how you juggle it all. You are doing so great getting in all that FIAR as well as the history and Latin and all. I have become a real slacker lately and we aren’t doing nearly as much as we used to do. I feel like we get the most important things in and leave out a lot.

    You do an amazing job!

    • cellista permalink*
      June 5, 2010 3:11 pm

      FIAR is very talky. We can nurse a baby, read a book, and just talk. Rarely do we actually “do” anything for it! Plus my husband is home until after lunch now so he can really help keep the baby entertained.

Leave a Reply

