Skip to content

I’ll just put my feet up and read all day…

June 21, 2010

Yeah, right.  Let’s just say my Monday did not go as planned.

It’s really hard to take the day off around here when DH has the same stomach bug that A and I had last Friday.  He still managed to sit through Toy Story 3 with the three big boys though since he couldn’t take them on Saturday when originally promised.  That left me with E who decided a 30-minute morning nap was sufficient.  I got my scripture study in at least and tried to alternate reading another book with playing with him when he woke up, but he wanted all of my attention so what could I do but play with this adorable child?

Then apparently, he turned into a mama’s boy for the day and cried his little heart out when Dad tried to put him down for an afternoon nap.  Dad was not the preferred parent today.  He only wanted Mommy.  Of course…because it was Mommy’s “day off.”   

It’s also hard to read when C gets a song stuck in his head and hums it.  Over and over and over again.  With a baby trying to go to sleep in my bedroom and three boys making noise in the front of the house, I had a hard time concentrating on a book.  Our house just isn’t big enough to find a quiet spot unless everyone is being quiet…or is asleep.  Now I remember why we have quiet reading time all at the same time. 

I probably should have gotten up and left the house, but then I fell asleep on the couch.  After that little nap, I was having a horrible time ignoring the laundry in the washer and the dishes in the sink and the 27 other little odd jobs I was noticing everywhere. 

Apparently I have a terrible time relaxing and taking a day off.  But I did read about 80 pages of John Adams and finally got past the introduction to Dante’s Inferno which I’ve been meaning to read for about two years now.  Now that I’ve started both, I want to continue them so I’m going to read more every day.  I’ve neglected that lately for myself and I miss it.

After dinner (which thankfully DH remembered he was in charge of) we decided to get out of the house and enjoy the beautiful weather so headed to Temple Square for a quick Family (not at) Home Evening to see the new scale model of the Salt Lake Temple and of course we enjoyed seeing the actual Salt Lake Temple.

So the day didn’t go as planned, but everything turned out OK in the end.   Especially after the littlest child who didn’t want to sleep today finally conked out at 10:30 p.m.

DH said he still owes me a day off…and I didn’t argue with him.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 8:29 am

    Mom never seems to get a day off and “vacations” only mean more work (before, during and after). I am sorry your day didn’t go as planned. You still got a nap which I would love to squeeze in some time. A little reading too. That is hard to come by around here.

    Our little house too never seems to be quiet. Even when it is quiet time. Being a parent is a noisy job.

    Did you boys like Toy Story 3. We usually wait until movies come out on DVD but we may make an exception for this one. Is it worth it?

  2. June 22, 2010 8:35 am

    I had hoped, as I read your blog yesterday. I am glad you got a little rest and reading in!

Leave a Reply

