Skip to content

Church History plans

July 11, 2010

So the plan was to study LDS church history and then follow the pioneers across the plains and get into Utah state history this summer.  Honestly, we haven’t done a thing with this yet.  I’ve been feeling so lazy and so summer-ish and so not in the mood to even read anything remotely schoolish with the boys right now.  We’re enjoying Finn Family Moomintroll as a read-aloud though.  (I’m also terribly interested in family history at the moment, but that’s a post for another day.) 

I bought some church history books for the boys and we were just going to read them together, but that didn’t sound like enough fun.  (D always lets me know whether he’s had “enough fun” when we go places.)  I wasn’t feeling up to making my own fun plans so I was quite happy to get an email from Discover the Scriptures about their new Hands-on Church History product that would be coming out in July. 

I’m going to continue to do nothing on my own and just wait until it is ready. It will take up more than just the summer, but that’s ok.  I’m still not completely sure what I’m doing for history next year, but I think I want to weave church history into our scripture study time.  Someday we’ll actually get to Utah state history.  And someday I’ll start wanting to think about school again…but probably not this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Harrington DeVogel permalink
    July 12, 2010 6:02 am

    I think there is a reason they call it summer break!

  2. Angilee permalink
    August 1, 2010 9:24 am

    Wow, I’ve never heard of Discover the Scriptures. Thanks for posting – I’m looking at it right now!

Leave a Reply

