Skip to content

I am exhausted

July 19, 2010

Partly from travel, partly from the fact that a certain small child in this household was awake last night at 2 a.m., 3 a.m., 4:00-4:30 a.m., 5:30-6:00, 7 a.m., and 8 a.m. when I finally willed myself to get out of bed. 

I think that was payback for taking E out of his comfort zone for the last week.  Actually though, he was a pretty great little traveler.  I was going to write about all of our adventures, but like I said…I’m exhausted and I still need to sort out all the vacation photos.

So for now I’ll just write out the weirdest thing that happened to us yesterday.  We were walking into the church trying to get to sacrament meeting by 9 a.m. when C started saying his chest was hurting.  I asked if he bumped into the wall or if one of his brothers had knocked into him or something.  He said no, he didn’t know what happened.  He was practically in tears by the time the opening song was over and it hurt when I touched his chest so I took him back out into the foyer.  I pulled up his shirt and there was a big red spot and what looked like scraped skin.  Then suddenly, a wasp was there crawling all over his tie.  It had been inside C’s shirt and had stung him and the stinger was still in C’s skin. 

I’m fairly sure I screamed a little, but my friend inside the chapel said she didn’t hear me (thank goodness) and I had to keep C from panicking as well.  We went down the stairs, hoping to meet DH soon (who had left for church after the rest of us) as I just couldn’t handle pulling the stinger out myself.  We met up and he took the stinger out and took C home to put some toothpaste on the sting mark so I could get back to the three I’d left in the chapel.  Thank goodness they’re well behaved. 

C was so excited to be getting a new short-sleeved white shirt to wear.  He might be rethinking that enthusiasm now that a wasp has found it so easy to crawl inside his sleeve on the way to church.  All is well though.

Insects must like us lately.  I had a grasshopper in my hair in the middle of a cello lesson last week and I haaaate grasshoppers, but at least they don’t sting.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 8:58 am

    YIKES!

  2. Grandma permalink
    July 20, 2010 2:17 pm

    Remind me to tell C about the time I sat on a bee. I’m glad that Dh was there to pull out the stinger.

  3. July 30, 2010 10:28 pm

    Um, I didn’t like this post at all!:) Sounds like he was very brave. I would have FREAKED OUT for sure. I’m weird about bugs crawling on me. Or even talking about bugs crawling on me:)

Leave a Reply

