Skip to content

Now this is exciting!

July 27, 2010

I’m the family history consultant for my ward and in April, I attended a fireside for family history consultants with Elder Allan F. Packer (which can now be viewed online here.)  We were updated on the Family History Library’s massive project involving digitizing its entire microfilm collection.  When the project commenced in 2002, it was expected to take a century. 

A century, as in one hundred years!  Who attempts a project like that?  Apparently, my church does.

Due to advances in technology, the latest estimate for completion of that slightly ambitious undertaking is only 8-10 more years!  That is amazing to me.  Not only are they digitizing their entire collection of genealogical records, volunteers are indexing all the digital images (you can help) and they are slowly being posted to the internet at Record Search.  Just last month, 26 million names and 1.5 million new images were added to the site. 

I’ve been having so much fun lately doing research on our family lines.  I’ve found new information on Record Search that I didn’t have and it’s been fun to view a few of the original record images online for free.  I love living in Salt Lake City and being able to get to the Family History Library when I need to, but I can’t wait for the day when all of that data is available to anyone with a computer anywhere in the world.   

So that’s been my summer activity of choice this month.  Sooner or later I’m going to have to get back to thinking about homeschool.  I can’t believe it’s the end of July already!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Harrington DeVogel permalink
    July 28, 2010 6:55 am

    It sounds wonderful! Maybe some day I can visit SLC and you can give me the grand tour. Glad you are enjoying your summer,
    Susan

  2. July 28, 2010 10:15 pm

    Oh, wow! I don’t live anywhere near SLC, and I can’t tell you how exciting that is: I just can’t afford to order films like I want to. Plus, our FHC is very unfriendly to children: the rule is don’t bring them until they’re 12. So I basically can’t work there. I’ve been wanting to do more again, like I did before Monkey was born, but hadn’t figured out how. Hearing that they’ve gotten so far on this project is *wonderful* news! I’m definitely going to have to spend some time checking it out as things settle into our new “normal” now that the baby is here. I’m SO glad you posted about this – THANKS!

  3. Angilee permalink
    August 1, 2010 9:16 am

    Yes, it is so exciting! My husband has a calling in family history, too. We have been finding out a lot of information about his family lately. We had a ward family history night where he was helping people learn about the new system, and I think I found his great-grandfather in the 1900 census. I’m still not sure, but just to find someone with the right name in the right town at the right age was very exciting! So many other interesting things have been happening to us lately with family history. It’s really amazing. I get so excited thinking about this huge genealogy project we have in the church. I haven’t been online much, and I haven’t visited your blog in a long time – sorry! – but this is a really cool post to read when I first come back to check on you 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Moral Liberal

Leave a Reply

