Skip to content

School Plans 2010/2011

August 2, 2010

I’m still fully in summer vacation/brain dead mode at the moment.  It’s been a very lazy July.  But everywhere I look people are posting back-to-school plans and hosting back-to-school blog hops.  It’s not time for that yet…is it? 

I know, I know, last year I was the one who started school on August 3rd, but only because I knew the month of January would be shot due to having a baby.  Baby’s here now and growing like a weed, and I’m actually kind of dreading school with a child who is fast on his way to crawling.  Things are about to change around here! 

First change should probably be vacation mode.  I need serious help getting out of it and what better way than to post my curriculum plans for this year.  I’ve had all of my books sitting here for several months and I really ought to get to work on our plans.  So here goes, I’m joining the blog hops.

(Also see Latter-day Homeschooling’s Back to Homeschooling Hop for more school plans.)

For 2010/2011, we’ll have a kindergartner, 2nd grader, and 4th grader, although those designations are for convenience only.  We’ll continue to teach them at whatever level they’re at.  We’re still following many of the guidelines for classical ed as found in The Well-Trained Mind so here’s what we’re attempting this year (with visuals!) 

D’s kindergarten plan looks very much like last year’s preschool plan.

 

For C:

  • Pentime 2: transitioning into cursive writing
  • Singapore Math 2A/B and supplementing with Developmental Math and Miquon as needed. 
  • Writing with Ease: 6 more lessons in volume 1, then he’ll begin volume 2.
  • Prima Latina: DH is going to take over doing beginning Latin with both C and D.

For A:

  • A and I will continue with Latina Christiana at our slow pace of one chapter every two weeks and supplementing with Ludere Latine Latin games and puzzles.
  • Pentime Cursive 3: He loves to write in cursive already, but has gotten into some bad habits so this year we’ll focus on correct letter formation and getting him to write smaller.
  • Sequential Spelling 1 and 2
  • Writing with Ease 3: He’s about halfway finished and vol. 4 is waiting.
  • Singapore Math 4A/B, Intensive Practice 4A/B, Challenging Word Problems 3, and just for fun–Life of Fred Fractions.

All of our other subjects are done together as much as possible. 

Language Arts:  We’re making a drastic change here and going with Michael Clay Thompson’s Language Arts program Island level for A with C listening in.  I’m excited.

Science:  We didn’t come close to finishing chemistry last year, so we will continue with Elemental Science Chemistry curriculum and then move into ES Physics using Gizmos and Gadgets and Physics Experiments for Children.

Geography: We get a lot of geography with our history studies and my children pore over maps just for fun, but we’re going to try a separate geography through literature course from Beautiful Feet Books this year with the accompanying maps.

Literature:  We all like to read a LOT!  I like to read classic children’s novels aloud and we almost always have a book on tape going in the car.  We pull a lot of literature ideas from our history activity guide, although this year’s looks quite a bit more advanced than in previous years.  For free reading, I try to have the older two boys alternate between books that are history or science tie-ins and quality literature taken from a number of reading lists out there.  We have a fabulous library system and a 100-book limit on each of our library cards. 🙂

Memory Work:  Last year was the first year we seriously tried memory work (at least up until the baby came) and the boys really liked it.  We alternated between scripture, poetry, and historical…things.  This year I don’t see why we can’t do a poem and a scripture each week.  I pull material from Living Memory by Andrew Campbell and fully intend to finish memorizing the US Presidents this year.

Art/Music:  Art is not my thing.  There, I said it.  We’ve been trying to get through Artistic Pursuits book 2 for the past two years.  Will the third year be the charm or should I admit defeat and just get Art Adventures at Home instead?  Decisions, decisions.  We also don’t have any formal plan for classical music/composer studies this year.  A and C will take piano lessons and D moves into the Kindermusik Young Child I class in September, they hear me practice my cello, they hear my cello students, and they come to most of my symphony concerts.  We all get a lot of music.

History: History is our favorite subject and while we’ve loved the past three years with Story of the World, volume 4 is a bit more intense with quite a bit of warfare involved.  We’ll read it only as a background and choose instead to focus on interesting people, inventions, Utah history, and American history happenings in the past 160 years using lots of living books and activities from the brand-new Time Travelers cd from Homeschool In the Woods.  We’ve also just started a study of LDS Church history using Hands-on Church History from Discover the Scriptures.  A is also showing an interest in family history which we can tie into our history studies especially well this year.

Scriptures: Last, but certainly not least (and generally first thing in the morning) we follow the LDS Seminary schedule and will be studying the Doctrine and Covenants this year using Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: Doctrine and Covenants.

So there it is.  An ambitious plan?  Probably.  It follows my theory that it’s better to shoot for the stars and land in the trees than to shoot for the trees and land in the mud!  I have yet to figure out a schedule for it all, but I’m actually looking forward to getting back into a school routine.  I needed a big summer break as the past seven months have been fairly exhausting with a new baby in the house again, but I think we’re just about ready to get going again.  We’ll ease into it with a few subjects and work our way up to a full schedule in September sometime.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 2:50 pm

    It seems so crazy to think that school will be back in session soon. Summer has gone very quickly!
    Your plans look so nice laid out like that. I haven’t quite got everything planned out yet. Henry should be starting Kindergarden but he is so active I may save actual seat work until later for him. He sits in on all our science, history and other reading. I really want to do FIAR Units with him. I bet he would love that. Ian would too. We didn’t do much with Music or Art last year. I need to do more of that too.

    I guess I should really sit down and plan out something or else it won’t happen at all.

  2. August 2, 2010 6:48 pm

    I feel like I have a lot planned too but like you said, aim for the stars not the trees. I am actually really excited for this year because I feel official now that my son should be going to kindergarten. We are all eager to get started and probably could get started now but I am going to wait until September.
    Have you used Beautiful Feet before? I am thinking of using their history program next year.

    • cellista permalink*
      August 3, 2010 11:11 am

      I have not used Beautiful Feet before, although I have heard really good things about them. Personally I think their history programs are a little sparse, we want more for history. We’ve had a great experience with Story of the World so far especially with the accompanying activity guides and its literature lists. But of course we have a fabulous library system and can check out MANY more books to go along with our history program which really enriches the experience.

      Some time I want to do BF’s history of science program and their classical music program. I do have the Building Character through Literature guide now that I think about it. I should start getting those books from the library and start working through the guide.

  3. August 2, 2010 8:47 pm

    We used the Code Primers last year and loved them. We are using ETC Books 1, 2 and 3 this year. I love that series.

    I know you will have so much fun with FIAR!

    Blessings to you for a wonderfully fun school year!

  4. August 4, 2010 12:39 am

    We have had Artistic pursuits k-3 and 4-6 for 2 years now, going on 3. My Kindy dd finished hers that first year. We haven’t done much in either book since then. Nice pictures though. Maybe this year?? Maybe not, I totally forgot about it until I read your blog.

  5. August 4, 2010 11:36 pm

    Sounds like a great plan! My older kids and I have found memories of BF’s geograpy. The maps were a favorite. Enjoy your year.

  6. Stephanie permalink
    August 16, 2010 1:33 am

    Looking at all the books and especially the Latin ones, makes me want to start homeschooling so bad.
    Lately the issue of homeschooling has created a rift between our relatives and us. 😦
    They are not aware of the programs and how structured it is, and they think it’s not a good idea.

    It all made me very sad, but more determined at the same time.

    I gathered all the information I needed at the local school district but now we are moving, so I will need to check into the other SD and see what is available in that area.

  7. August 26, 2010 3:10 pm

    How do you like Writing with Ease? I’m looking into it for my 7.5yr old 3rd grader. We haven’t done much with writing at all formally (though he makes books all the time for fun) and I’ve worked on narration with him. He can tell you every.single.detail from every book he’s ever read! So, making his narrations a summary is what we are working on. Because of his vocabulary, it’s very overwhelming for him to think about getting all his thoughts on paper. Do you think I would like WWE for him? I’m thinking he would move right into the 2nd part after looking it up online. Any thoughts to help me out?

    BTW, art is not my forte either! I figure we’ll start doing some more with art and poetry next year. I’m recovering from having a baby with some health issues last Sept, so we are in a similar boat. Just getting through the basics this year will make me happy. Looks like you are well on your way to a great school year! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

