Skip to content

Ready or not

August 22, 2010

I’m leaning more towards not, but surely I have enough prepared to get us through at least our first day or two.  I didn’t accomplish nearly as much as I would have liked this past week in preparation for the school year–can we just say that someone’s essentially crawling now and such a busybody?  But the boys are excited, we all have new shirts to wear, and tomorrow we start. 

Random thoughts from this week:

  • Oh, the irony–The external hard drive we bought for a data backup in case the computer crashed, crashed before the computer.  Still no word on whether I can recover some of the ebooks I need for this year off of it…and DH wonders why I prefer paper in my hands.
  • I like to schedule about 38-40 weeks of schools so we can get our 180 days in and still be able to take off a day here and there.  I’ve barely got 36 weeks calendared in before June, but I did leave a few weeks off for both a fall break and a spring break, a week at Thanksgiving, and two weeks for Christmas.  I think I can live with that schedule. 
  • I finally remembered to fill out my homeschooling exemption affidavit and get it to the SLC School District.  Last year the secretary there chastised DH because we didn’t fill out their specific form.  So this year I decided to do just that, but I had to search and search their website for the right link and then every time I clicked on it, I only got the letter they send home for truancy…unless I clicked the link for Bosnian or Vietnamese.  I could tell those were a different form, but since I don’t speak Bosnian or Vietnamese, I wouldn’t be able to tell if I filled it out correctly so I just went with the form from the UHEA site again. 
  • Just for fun, I tried the other school districts in the valley.  Their websites were similarly unhelpful.
  • Oh, those long afternoon naps!  E’s, that is, not mine unfortunately.  I’d love a nap too but I usually have a mile long to-do list once he’s finally out.  He’s so curious and so cute and so wanting to be in the middle of everything!  And it’s only going to get worse.  Oh my…
  • I happened upon an “Office Max 20% off everything you can fit in this paper bag” bag.  I love buying school supplies, although we are pretty stocked up.  There were just a few things I needed and they all fit in the bag!  C went shopping with me.  We had a good time, just the two of us.
  • Also had a great time at the library getting books to fill the book baskets once more.  I’m looking forward to some new subjects to study and books to read!  I’ve already caught the boys “reading ahead.”  (They giggle when I say that accusingly.)
  • One of my cello students just shared with me how much money she’s shelled out this week for her supposedly “free” public education.  It made me feel much better about the money I spend on books.  I don’t have to pay any registration fees or send a long list of  supplies.  My children don’t really require a back-to-school wardrobe, so I can spend my $$$ directly on books and learning materials that are of more worth.

I am looking forward to this, I’m just feeling a little unprepared for the roller coaster feeling I get once the year starts.  I’ll need those breaks I’ve scheduled!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 9:54 am

    I’m sure everything will work out well. You do such an amazing job with your boys!

    • August 23, 2010 10:56 pm

      It’s nice to know someone is feeling the same way I am. Maybe it is having that baby in the mix, but I was pretty stressed out heading into today.

      I hope your day went well, and your year goes smoothly.

Leave a Reply

