Skip to content

Week 4

September 17, 2010

This week went pretty good.  I’m still having no success with any sort of schedule or routine for who does what when, but somehow we seem to finish everything…eventually.  There have been some long school days here this week.  I think I need to tweak our pre-baby weekly checklists from last fall so we can be a little more organized and efficient with our time.

Memory: Same poem (“Autumn Fires”)and scripture (D&C 8:2-3) as last week.

FIAR: We are still rowing Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel and will finish that up next week.

History: It was rather a dry week in history.  We read SOTW chapter 4 which covered Italy’s “Resurrection” and the Taiping Rebellion.  Yawn….They labelled a couple of maps and we got our timeline caught up.  We watched A More Perfect Union tonight for Constitution Day and it was a good review.  Next week we’ll do some reading in American history and start a couple weeks’ study of the Civil War.

Literature: Together we’ve been reading The Bears’ Famous Invasion of Sicily and have been listening to These Happy Golden Years. I need an exciting new series to listen to when we’re done with the Little House books.  C finished reading When the Circus Came to Town by Laurence Yep and is in the middle of quite a few other books.  He has a hard time sitting down to finish books lately.  I need to be better at helping him do that. A has gotten into the 39 Clues books lately.

Geography: Read four chapters in Paddle to the Sea, labelled Lake Superior (I never knew it resembled a wolf’s head!) and talked about marshes.

Latin: A and I began Latina Christiana lesson 10 and it was the others’ turn to skip Latin for a week.  (Not that we intend to skip at all, we’ve just had a hard time fitting it all in.)  One day, we’ll get to everyone.

Language Arts: We finally added spelling in and A did three days’ worth of Sequential Spelling.  We got back to Writing with Ease as well and C did 4 assignments in vol. 1, week 30 while A did two assignments from vol. 3, week 9.  We have finally covered the 8 parts of speech in Grammar Island and I really thought they were getting it until I gave them a quiz today and it didn’t go so well.  It was Friday afternoon though and I just think their brains were tired.  Verbs were labelled as adjectives, nouns were called pronouns and it was just sad.  But as we talked through the sentences, I could see the lightbulbs come back on.  A even used an interjection in his journal tonight.

The boys are supposed to keep a journal for two weeks for cub scouts.  Maybe I’ll have them continue after that.  I’ve never had them do journals before, but it’s been fun to see how A puts our days into words.  D continues to work on reading.  He’s really hung up on blending at the moment.  Maybe I need a new approach, or maybe I just need to be more consistent.  D never wants to begin the day with a reading lesson, but if we don’t do it first thing, it’s highly likely we won’t get to it at all.

Math: D is cruising right along in Singapore 1B however and loves it.  On the other hand, C is getting back to his fear of math and we need to really work on combatting that  but math kind of bogged both him and A down this week.  I’m really starting to regret not doing math for a good 8 weeks over the summer.  I didn’t intend to take that much time off, it’s just how life went, but we were really feeling it this week.   Once again I can see how we still need to work on those pesky math facts.  I need to put drill sheets back into the routine.

So that’s it for the schoolwork.  We did take some time out this week to go to the State Fair (on family day, kids were free!) and also went on a drive up the canyon to see the first of the autumn leaves.  They begged to go hiking while we were out but I had on the completely wrong shoes for it so I think they’ve talked me into it for next week.

The boys had a rain gutter regatta at scouts.  Technically only A is in cub scouts, but since DH is the high councilman over cub scouts in our stake, he goes and takes all three of the big boys with him.  Some weeks they’re the only ones there and they all have great fun. D ended up with the fastest boat, or probably I should say his had the straightest rudder so it was easiest to blow.


At the fair we saw all of the farm animals (C had to pet the piglets), the quilts and cross-stitching, some really cool models of trains, ships, and a windmill, some old-fashioned tractors,

and my personal favorite, the butter cows:

I balked at paying $4 for pony rides though, let’s just go to This is the Place Heritage Park instead.  (Although I think their pony rides have ended until spring.)  But we can have train rides there endlessly still so I didn’t want to pay for those at the fair either.  I was actually pretty happy that we got out of there without breaking the bank.  You could spend a fortune without really trying by taking six people to the State Fair.  It’s a racket.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 7:12 am

    Wow, a very full week! I’m impressed. I don’t do well with schedules myself. We seem to be better at checklists and then just reminding ourselves throughout the day what’s been done and what hasn’t. But it makes one feel at sea, somewhat. We’ve been trying to adjust our routine as well. It takes time, doesn’t it?

    I like the raingutter regatta so much more than the pinewood derby. And I love the cows!

  2. September 18, 2010 8:17 am

    Love the fair pictures! When I was in elementary school, we lived in SLC and used to go to the state fair. Thanks for taking me back 🙂

  3. September 18, 2010 6:50 pm

    We loved Paddle to the Sea and three years later my kids still remember the names of the Great Lakes.

    I ♥ the gutter regatta. AWESOME. We might have to do that around here just for fun.

  4. September 19, 2010 11:10 am

    Looks like a nice week! Love the pictures of the State Fair – brings back memories of attending ours when I was a kid! Nice butter cows! 😉

  5. September 19, 2010 1:30 pm

    Wow another WTM person from Utah. We use to go to the State fair but for some reason or another haven’t done it in about 3 years. Loads of fun though. Fun week!

  6. September 19, 2010 5:57 pm

    Checking in! I haven’t stopped by for a long time! You are doing great getting all you do done each week! I can’t believe your little guy is already 8 months!

    Have a great week.

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

