Skip to content

Tag, I’m it!

October 10, 2010

Andrea at Harvest Academy tagged me with a “get to know you” game.

What are your top 5 favorite books? This is a hard one to answer!  I’ve been reading a lot more lately, but I rarely come back to a book once I’ve read it even if it was really good.  But here are 5 books that I love and will always come back to reread.

  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • Anne of Green Gables (or maybe Anne of Windy Poplars, I love both of them)
  • 1776
  • The Book of Mormon
What is one of your favorite scriptures? 2 Nephi 31:20 “Wherefore, ye must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men.  Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life.”
What is your favorite homeschool curriculum that you have used? Without a doubt–Story of the World.  History was always one of my favorite subjects but thanks to this series, I’ve learned more world history than I ever did in school.  Much more. History is now the boys’ favorite subject as well.  SOTW has really filled their heads with great stories and ideas, interesting people and places.  The activities and recommended book lists in the Activity Guides have also really enriched our homeschooling.
What led you to homeschool your children? We had a precocious 3-year-old who needed more mental stimulation than what his toys were giving him so I started teaching him and one thing lead to another to the point we couldn’t see why we should interrupt this fun to send him to school.  (Longer version in this post.)  But I also think inspiration was a huge part of it.  We really wanted our children to have an LDS-based education where we could talk about the gospel at any time during any subject.  Over and over again, it has been confirmed to us that we are doing the right thing.
If you could go anywhere in the world where would it be? I can never narrow down travel questions, so two places right now–We really want to take the boys back to see all the Revolutionary War and Civil War sites on the east coast after all the American history we’ve been studying lately.  I’d also really love to go to England, Hampshire specifically, to see some family history sites and go to the Mid-Hants Railway during their War on the Line 1944 reenactment weekend.
If you had one day all to yourself, what would you do? Right now I’d probably sleep!  That’s what I really need to do.  But assuming I was well rested, I’m sure I could fill up a day doing some reading, browsing through the fabric store, working on genealogy, and going to the ballet or symphony or something in the evening.
What is your favorite food group? Fruit!  I love fresh fruit in season especially apples, oranges, watermelon, and ohhhhh, the peaches!  I’m doubly enjoying them this year because fresh fruit made me so sick last summer when I was pregnant.  It was awful.
What is something that your child(ren) did recently that made you laugh out loud? We’ve been learning “The Battle Hymn of the Republic” and I heard D singing it in his bedroom last week as he played.  He kept getting tripped up over the line “He is trampling out the vintage where the grapes of wrath are stored.”  Three times he stopped and restarted the song trying to say that line right.
So those were my questions to answer.  Now I get to come up with 8 questions of my own:
  1. What is your favorite hymn and what other music do you like?
  2. What is your favorite holiday and what family traditions do you have associated with it?
  3. What is your favorite dessert?
  4. What is one thing you do to take care of or recharge yourself?
  5. What is your favorite children’s book or author?
  6. If you could travel in time to any place or to meet any person, where would you go or who would you meet?
  7. What is a memorable experience you’ve had in 2010?
  8. What do you love about being a mother?

To get to know you better, I’m tagging:

Judi
Sonja
Ritsumei
Tamaran
Jen
Nicole
Denise (private blog)

You!  If you feel so inclined as to play along, I’d love to read your answers to any or all of my questions.  Leave a comment. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 4:30 am

    So good to have you stop by!

    I would love to answer the questions – can you link it to Twelve Fit Feet since the Chicken Coop is more my private family blog!

    Thanks!

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

