Skip to content

Cello thoughts

November 12, 2010

My cello students had their fall recital last week.  Saying that makes it sound like it’s a yearly tradition or something, and honestly, I can’t even remember the last time I did a student recital. We generally have one sometime around February, but last February I was still taking it easy after delivering a baby.  The February before that?  I can’t remember why, but I don’t think we had one.  I think I only had two students ready to play and that’s hardly worth the effort to schedule a recital.  Last week at least I had four.

Aside from the nerves (I tell my students they don’t have to be nervous, I’ll be nervous for them.) I love having student recitals.  It means that everyone gets a new solo.  Yep, the reward for playing–more music to play.  But everyone seemed happy about that at their lesson this week.  I know I was.  I was getting awfully tired of a few of their solos!  It will be so good to dig into something new.  I like the challenge of picking just the right piece for each student and I think I’ve assigned some good ones. I was actually more excited about teaching this week than I have been for a while.

I haven’t been very excited about playing lately either.  Maybe I need a new solo!  I did just commit to playing the Christmas Eve services at a downtown church, but I am taking time off from orchestra and not playing our Christmas concert.  We have a very strong cello section this year so I won’t even be missed and when I saw the date of the concert, I knew I didn’t want to be gone three nights in that particular week.  I’m slowly learning not to overcommit myself.

I do need to practice more though. I’ve lost a lot of my endurance from not playing much since E’s birth, and that’s what kills me every time we have a concert.  I just get so worn out from the long rehearsals.  My goal in the next two months is to get back to daily practicing, and try to get back in practicing shape again!  My biggest obstacle lately has been finding a time to practice when A isn’t ready to sit down to the piano.  I swear (well, really I don’t swear) we always want the music room at the same time!  We must need practice room sign-ups.  It will be like college all over again.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 5:40 pm

    LOL! I loved the college reminder. We need a schedule at our house, too! 🙂

  2. November 14, 2010 8:20 pm

    I so admire that you get in enough practice to even *think* about playing in a symphony. Since I stopped teaching piano i’m not getting in much practice time at all. It’s a bummer.

Leave a Reply

