Skip to content

November 18, 2010

Yesterday afternoon DH came home from quarterly training (which of course always seems to fall on his days off) and told me I had to leave the house.  I think he could sense some desperation in me and knew I just needed to get away from everybody for a little while.  I had no idea what to do or where to go.  I had actually planned on cleaning up the schoolroom table and sorting through the ever present paperwork after the boys were done with school.  But in realizing that DH would be working the next 5 days, including 6 hours of overtime Saturday night, and 18 hours on Sunday, I knew I needed to get out by myself while I still could.

So I did a little research at the Family History Library and found a christening record I need to share with a couple of family members.  I ate dinner out by myself (that was weird!), stopped by the Distribution Center for some conference Ensigns for the boys, and ended up at the city library where I lounged for an hour or so and just read.  It wasn’t anything terribly exciting, but it was the best I could come up with at the last minute.  I don’t do spontaneous very well.  DH wanted me to stay out a few more hours, but I had to remind him that we do still have a nursing baby and he’d probably really want me to feed him before bed.  It was nice to get out for a couple of hours though.

It’s been a long week…and it’s only Wednesday.  I’ve had three children with head colds this week and I’m terribly sleep deprived.  E is the worst, poor kid.  His nose is so stuffed up and he’s sleeping terribly, which means we’re all sleeping terribly.  In fact I should be in bed right now, but it’s almost like I can’t sleep because I know he’s going to wake up again.  Just my luck, it will be the night he sleeps right through.

OK, no, he just woke up…

Back again…

We’re struggling through school this week.  I’ve spent what feels like half of every day trying to help E get comfortable enough to sleep.  The others have kind of been left to fend for themselves in the meantime.  I feel bad about that and I had great plans for school this week, but they’re just not materializing.  A hasn’t been so sick that he’s not been able to work.  He’s thinking slowly though.  Math took forever this morning.  He got all the problems right though so I’m not complaining.  C has been feeling “like there’s a thunderstorm in my head.”  He’s done a little bit of handwriting, listened in on all the reading, and spent a lot of time just lying on the couch.  D is just fine, thank goodness, after being sick last week and is working hard in his own way.

I really need to spend more one on one time with him.  He did ask to run errands with me on Monday and was quite the chatterbox.  I’m so glad he asked to come along.  We had a good time together.  I need to take them out individually more often.

There are so many things I need to do more of.  Well, I don’t necessarily need to do more, I just need to make better use of my time.  Right now that means sleep (hopefully) so I’ll just end this right here and talk about details later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

