Skip to content

Still celebrating

December 2, 2010

We just can’t seem to celebrate anything once.  We ended up having three Thanksgiving dinners.  We had one on Halloween with my dad’s family while one of my cousins was in town for several weeks.  We got together with my mom’s family on Thanksgiving itself, and on Wednesday last we made a turkey dinner to celebrate with DH since he had to work on Thursday and we wanted him to get at least one dinner not reheated.  The bonus was that we got all the leftovers from that turkey.

Then we celebrated D’s birthday Friday night with Grandma and Poppa, then on Saturday just with our family.  Because he’s been on this kick lately about playing golf, we decided to treat the birthday boys to a night out playing miniature golf and roller skating at a place here in the valley.  They had a few kiddie rides too, so we rode the merry-go-round, a “spinning hot air balloon” ride, and the bumper cars.  The boys all loved those.

We began though by playing 18 holes of miniature golf.  I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time.  None of them have ever played before and it was hilarious trying to teach them how.  C kept picking his ball up after he hit it.  They all lost track of which ball was theirs.  I don’t know how many times we had to remind C and D to stay off the green so they wouldn’t get whacked by a ball.  D lost interest about 10 holes in.  E was screaming because he was hungry (and also because he was strapped in), so in between putts, DH and I took turns feeding him yam and cereal and pushing him from hole to hole in his stroller.  It was crazy.  We had to let a couple of people play through, but luckily hardly anyone else was there because we were taking forever.  After 18 holes though, they finally started to get the hang of it.  In fact, C, D, and DH all got a hole-in-one.  A really enjoyed it and even talked DH into playing another round with him.

We also tried roller skating.  There’s another skill that we haven’t really taught the boys.  I know we went there once before for a family party about three years ago, but other than that, we haven’t been skating in years.  We really ought to try again though.  It would be great exercise.  I used to have a pair of adjustable roller skates that went over my shoes.  I doubt they’re still at Grandma’s house, but we are packrats so who knows.  I might have to invest in a new set though so the boys can practice.  A went once around the floor gripping my arm and the wall before declaring himself finished.  C made it around once and I think D tried skates for about 5 minutes and that was it.  I think C had the most fun.  He laughed the whole time, even as his feet kept going in two different directions at once.  DH held on to E and I got to skate by myself for a short while before everyone was ready to go home.  Which, incidentally, was where I left my camera’s memory card so no pictures, just memories!

It was so nice to go out together as a family.  I don’t think we’ve had that much fun in a long time.  DH has worked a lot of overtime hours lately and there are quite a few more to come this month.  We needed a night out.  Now we have A’s and Grandma’s birthday to continue celebrating on Friday.  Not to mention Christmas.  The fun never stops…

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 12:45 pm

    That sounds like soooo much fun. I haven’t been miniature golfing or roller skating myself in years.

Leave a Reply

