Skip to content

The child that made me a mother

December 6, 2010

All I ever really wanted to be was a mother.

Age 1

Although I had little idea what that entailed when we brought our firstborn son home that cold December day.

2nd birthday

It was hard.  I didn’t know I could feel so exhausted.

We spent many a sleepless night staring at the Christmas tree lights,

crying.

age 3

I didn’t feel like I’d ever know what I was doing.

age 5

All I knew was that I loved this tiny little person so much

and hoped he’d forgive me for all of my mistakes.

age 6

Ten years later, I’m so thankful I chose this life.

age 7

This child.

age 8

All I ever wanted to be was a mother.

Now I know why.

There’s an indescribable joy in watching the child you helped create grow into such an incredible person before your very eyes.

A is an amazing person, an awesome big brother.

He is eager to learn, quick to understand.

I am often in awe of him.

I can’t believe it’s been a decade.

I’m looking forward to the next 10 years.

Happy Birthday, A!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    December 6, 2010 9:05 am

    Happy B-day A! I love listening to his comments in primary. He amazes me also.

  2. Mom permalink
    December 8, 2010 12:53 pm

    K–what a wonderful tribute to your firstborn. Yes, motherhood is exhausting but full of wonderful rewards. Good luck as you hang in there.
    Lots of love always

Leave a Reply

