Skip to content

Happy New Year

January 3, 2011

New Year’s Eve: We made pizzas and root beer floats,

and played board games.

I know that looks like a thrilling pile of fun right there, but keeping in mind the ages involved, it was rather enjoyable for everyone.  Sleeping Queens was by far the biggest hit of the night. They played it most of the day on Saturday too, in and around watching Toy Story 3 and working on our third puzzle of the week.

Every year I remind DH that my ward growing up always had a New Year’s Day breakfast at the church and that I miss it and wish we’d have one.  Then I got the bright idea that we should make breakfast on New Year’s Day and invite our family and friends to our house.  He looked at me like I was crazy because he had to work on Saturday, not to mention our house just isn’t large enough to entertain much more than a few extra people at any given time.  And we really like our root beer float/board game party New Year’s Eve tradition and I don’t see how I could do both.  But maybe some year…

Resolutions?  I don’t have any.  I do have a new calling at church–2nd counselor in Primary, and church is now at 11 a.m. instead of 9:00 which made our whole Sunday feel a lot different.  We had a really good day today.  We tried a new routine and added some different activities to our Sunday.  I like it, except that next week DH starts working on Sundays so that will change things.  A lot.  And it will probably mean more work for me on Sundays, but that’s life for the next four months.

In thinking about resolutions, I do have things I want to improve upon or start doing this year, but I don’t feel the need to write out a bullet point list here.  I think this quote sums up what I’m striving for at this time.  Interestingly it was given at LDS general conference which is generally a time, for me anyway, to set new goals or refocus my energies:

My beloved associates, far more of us need to awake and arouse our faculties to an awareness of the great everlasting truths of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Each of us can do a little better than we have been doing. We can be a little more kind. We can be a little more merciful. We can be a little more forgiving. We can put behind us our weaknesses of the past, and go forth with new energy and increased resolution to improve the world about us, in our homes, in our places of employment, in our social activities.

~Pres. Gordon B. Hinckley, “We Have a Work To Do”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:03 am

    We should totally get a group together to do breakfast next New Year’s (assuming we are both still here). We could use the LW bulding. Hmmm….sounds like fun to me! And actually I’m a little jealous of your New Year’s Eve activities. Looks like a lot of fun! Jon had to work until 2 a.m.

  2. January 3, 2011 1:44 pm

    Fun games. We just got two new map games – Where in the World? and U.S. Scramble. Both are a lot of fun and help me get in the necessary Geography! 🙂

    Your little guy looks so big! I can’t believe it has already been a year! My little guys are so full of energy so different than my girls. I bet you could help me out in the boy area! They are 4 and 6 and keeping them engaged is sometimes difficult!

    Happy New Year and thanks for stopping by my blog! I hope to be able to blog more this year!

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

