Skip to content

It is Saturday, didn’t you know?

January 10, 2011

Our week has turned topsy-turvy again.  DH’s work schedule changed again and I decided to change with it.  For the past, oh, feels like forever, he’s worked on Saturday.  So Saturday was a work day and Monday was an off day for him.  I was trying to have Saturday as an off day, (as much as a mom can have an off day with four children to feed, clothe, bathe, etc. on her own) and have Monday as a back to work, back to school day.  We’ve been at cross purposes for quite a while now.  So we switched.  Saturday is now a school day, and Monday is our off day together.

I thought the boys might not go for it, after all, who wants to do school on Saturday?  But they wholeheartedly agreed to the change, and I’ll admit I was kind of surprised that they got up last Saturday and got to work with zero complaints.  We didn’t do a lot, but then we didn’t do a lot any day last week.  I’ve finally given in to the urge to go slowly after Christmas break.  Every year I plan way too much and we always fail, so this year we just did a little bit of math, reading, and history each day and I think that tomorrow we’ll be ready for much more.  One can hope anyway.

One great thing about working on Saturday was knowing that today was completely free.  Before the switch, I never seemed to get my planning done for the following week on Saturdays and so then I was always thinking and planning (and usually stressing) for the week ahead on Sunday nights.  Then Monday was go, go, go again.  There wasn’t much down time.  I’m making a conscious effort to not spend Sunday worrying about what happens on the other six days of the week.  Sundays are holy days, and I’ll admit I haven’t been doing nearly enough to treat them as such lately.  I’m usually so exhausted by Sunday that everyone has kind of been on their own.  I’m trying to be much more deliberate about the Sabbath now.

And I can wake up Monday morning and know I have another day to get things in order for the week.  Or like today, I can sleep in for a change!  It’s almost embarrassing how late I was still in bed, but I must have really needed some extra sleep.  DH cleaned my kitchen for me and then he and the three older boys started working on a model of a P-38 Lightning after lunch and I spent most of the afternoon putting things in order for school.  The school table’s been commandeered by large jigsaw puzzles for the past six weeks, but we finished the last one this morning so we finally have space for schoolwork again, although our goal is to return it to its “clean dining room table look” by the end of each day.

I also finally made new weekly checklists for the boys today.  We used some last year until E was born and then they fell by the wayside and I never updated them for this school year.  Every night I’ve been writing out a to-do list for school the next day, but it felt like such a redundant waste of time.  We do a lot of the same things every day so why not write it out once and be done?  We’ve been floundering the past couple months too and not accomplishing nearly what I know we’re capable of, so now everyone can see at a glance what should happen in a week and there is space to fill in specific pages and such at the beginning of the week.  So Mondays will be my day to do that.  Many other homeschoolers seem to be into filing this year, as in tearing apart workbooks and making copies of everything they will use and filing them all together for each week.  While I love the idea, we have enough loose paper floating around the house already that I really really don’t want to dismantle anything already bound together, so with our checklists, I think we can find everything we need even if it’s not in one convenient file folder.

I guess we’ll find out tomorrow, which will feel like Monday even though it’s really Tuesday, and hopefully I won’t forget that therefore we have scouts and orchestra.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 11:34 am

    So what kind of work does your husband do that his schedule changes? I think I’d like to have Monday off rather than Saturday. I always feel like I need a day off after Sunday! That shouldn’t be – but somehow things get a little messy around here on Sunday.

    I have been having my 11 year old make her own checklist (with my help) each week and that has lightened my load a bit. I don’t like to take pages out of our books either.

    It is snowing here today. Piano and choir was canceled. I like being snowed in! 🙂

    Have a great day!

  2. January 11, 2011 2:02 pm

    I’m a little envious. I’m still floundering around unorganized and scattered. Sigh.

  3. Michelle permalink
    January 11, 2011 4:33 pm

    Brilliant idea!

    We had to switch our weekdays around more than once in the UAE–at first work/school was Saturday-Wednesday, with Thursday/Friday weekends (church on Friday). Then, the country decided to change their weekend to line it up more closely with other parts of the world for business reasons, so our weekend became Friday/Saturday (church still on Friday), and school/work was Sunday-Thursday. It was fun & we learned to be flexible. 🙂

  4. Francesca Rose permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:52 pm

    You are a great homeschooling mom! I actually am really bad with paper clutter, but for the last couple of years, I have pulled out papers, photocopied them, hole punched them, and put them in binders that are easily accessible and labeled. It works great, and I don’t have alot of prep. time, because I did it before I started the year. We’ve slowed down a bit since Christmas as well….it’s okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

