Skip to content

Recipe Insurance

January 14, 2011
tags:

I found it, I found it!  I found my cheese biscuit recipe.  It’s one of our favorites and it’s been missing for months.  My mother asked me for a copy after we made them for Christmas dinner…Christmas 2009, that is.  Sorry, Mom–we couldn’t find it.  Anywhere.  But I found it!  So I am now posting it here, just in case it ever gets lost again.

********************************************

Quick Cheese Biscuits

1 cup flour
1 1/4 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
2 Tb. butter or margarine
2/3 c. milk

Preheat oven to 450°F.  Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.  Stir in Cheddar.

Cut in butter using a pastry blender or 2 knives until coarse crumbs form.  (Using a food processor works well too, unless your DH has killed your food processor making rice milk.)

Using a fork, stir milk into flour mixture until a soft dough forms.  Do not overmix or overwork dough.

Drop dough in heaping tablespoons, 1 inch apart, onto an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake until biscuits are firm to the touch, about 15 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:14 pm

    Sounds yummy! And I like the part about no kneading, no rolling, no cutting, just dropping. My family loves biscuits but all my recipes require a bit of work.

Leave a Reply

