Skip to content

Wordfull Wednesday: My favorite book from childhood

January 26, 2011

Chocolate on my Cranium is hosting Wordfull Wednesdays again.  This week’s topic is “My favorite book from childhood.”

I’m not sure what my favorite book from my childhood is, but I do remember fondly my mother reading to me as a child.

You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be —
I had a Mother who read to me.
~from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan

I am rich from my “Reading Mother.”  We would visit the small library in our town and check out three new books each week (that was the limit!)  One of my earliest memories is listening to her read The Wizard of Oz aloud to me.  She would also listen patiently as I read countless pages of Dick and Jane to her after school.  (Now Dick and Jane drive me crazy!)  I also remember receiving a copy of Frog and Toad Are Friends as a child (from a mail-order bookclub, perhaps?) that I still own and treasure.  Frog and Toad have always been two of my favorite children’s book characters and are some of the very first that I introduce my boys to when they become “real” readers.

Sometime later my mother and I began reading Anne of Green Gables together, a chapter a night.  One night she was gone at bedtime so I decided to read the chapter myself and just kept going through quite a few more!  Now I’m blessed with children who do the same to me.  I haven’t yet read the Anne books to my boys, but we’ve enjoyed so many others from my childhood like Alice in Wonderland, Heidi, Pippi Longstocking, The Children of Noisy Village, The Secret Garden,and The Chronicles of Narnia. It is so wonderful to travel the world together through marvelous books.  I’m grateful to my “Reading Mother” for introducing me to this great adventure.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 8:02 am

    I still love the Dick and Jane illustrations. 🙂 Isn’t it great to be Wordfull Wednesdaying again?

    • cellista permalink*
      January 26, 2011 8:04 am

      Oh, I love the illustrations too! I look at them nostalgically at the library, but I won’t let the boys check them out to read to me. 🙂

  2. January 26, 2011 8:16 am

    A three book limit! That wouldn’t work for us now! We have to be careful or we hit the 100 limit some weeks!

    I love Dick and Jane! I always use it as one of the first books for when my children are learning to read.

    I have fond memories of reading by my mother’s side too.

  3. January 26, 2011 1:29 pm

    A three book limit. I couldn’t imagine. . .
    I am reading Pipi Longstocking to my kids right now. My daughter loves it! This is the first chapter book read aloud that she stays around to listen to. I have the Children of Noisy Village and plan to read it to the kids soon.

  4. January 26, 2011 1:31 pm

    My parents would take turns reading to us ( I think to give the other a break as we asked so much!). I soaked up all the Anne books starting about age 11. Now I love that my girls are into them too!

  5. January 26, 2011 1:37 pm

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was amazing to me as a child!

  6. January 26, 2011 8:59 pm

    Thank you for stopping by. I like finding other mom’s of boys. I think they are great!!!

    I think I might lurk around here a bit. I’m a homeschooler too and I like all the ideas that others have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

