Skip to content

Weeks 19, 20

February 5, 2011

We had a fabulous week of school last week, but I just never got around to writing about it.  This week was so-so.  We did actually accomplish most of our work, but we were also nursing DH who had surgery on Monday morning and now I think I’m coming down with a sinus infection or something.  Blah…

But school was great!

Thanks to our lovely new checklists, it’s a snap to lay out everyone’s books at night so they can sit down and get right to work every morning.  Even though they each have a bin for all of their schoolbooks, our mornings run smoother when I set our all their books on the table for them.  D, especially, never seems to remember that he has a bin for his books and will walk around half the morning complaining he can’t find his math.  I think it also helps that our little one is getting me up at the crack of dawn so I’m up and (somewhat) at it before everyone else and I can keep them moving in the right direction instead of getting distracted which is what happens if I don’t get up before they do.

We’ve done better this week at making personal scripture study part of our morning routine though.  C and A both finished reading the Book of Mormon again this week and have started reading the New Testament.  I’ve begun reading our other scriptures to them over breakfast if I finish eating before they do, which is great, except that we tend to go from there to the school table and skip our memory work.  We have been working on Doctrine and Covenants 19: 16-19 (for too many weeks now) but memory work has really fallen through the cracks lately.  We need to fix that.

History: I feel like we’re on a whirlwind read-through of world history at the moment.  Between Story of the World and our Time Traveler cds, we’ve read about orphan trains, labor unions and riots, the westward expansion of America, the states created from 1850 to 1959, Persia, the Balkans in the 1910s, the Russo-Japanese War, the last emperor of China, the Vietnamese Restoration Society, the Mexican Revolution, and the beginnings of World War I.  Last week we made an orphan train booklet for our lapbooks and a pop-up book about Frank Lloyd Wright and his Fallingwater house.  We also read about Aaron Copland and Norman Rockwell.

This week we mainly worked on maps.  They each completed a map on World War I Europe and C colored a picture of soldiers.

They also made maps of the growth of the U.S.  with an overlay of all the new states.

A also pored over the atlas (a favorite pastime anyway) to do a geography assignment on the Balkans.

We also caught up on our timeline.  I don’t think we’ve added a thing to it since about October.

I don’t think we read any extra books this entire week, but A and C have been reading up a storm on their own.  Cold weather certainly makes for more reading time around here!  C has finished:

  • Earthquake! A Story of Old San Francisco by Kathleen Kudlinski
  • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan
  • Bully For You, Teddy Roosevelt! by Jean Fritz
  • The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
  • The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting

A has read:

  • The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan
  • Ranger’s Apprentice Book #3: The Icebound Land by John Flanagan

And he picked up The Hobbit last week!  He finished it a few days later and came back for The Fellowship of the Ring. I’m excited for him to experience some of the really great literature out there.

 

FIAR: D has rowing The Glorious Flight as we’ve gotten up to the 1990s in history and have also been reading about the Wright Brothers.  He wrote the title for copywork, made a notebook page on France and England with a Bleriot plane flying, and learned Roman Numerals with a matching worksheet and then wrote out everyone’s ages in Roman numerals.

Math: A is just finishing fractions in Singapore and does Life of Fred one day a week.  D has been doing pages from Math Mammoth Place Value and C is finally understanding how to make a 10 when adding single digit numbers over 10.

Language Arts: A completed Writing with Ease week 18 and C did weeks 5 and 6.  His dictation skills are getting better and he’s up to step 10 in All About Spelling and really likes it.  We talked about alliteration for poetry, read some of A. A. Milne’s poetry, read Sentence Island chapter 2 about action verbs versus linking verbs, and learned DE- words in vocabulary.  D is up to reading lesson 42 in The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading. It’s a tedious process, but I think he is actually getting better.

Latin: C finished lessons 9 and 10 and can now count to 10 in Latin.  A completed lesson 15.

Art: We studied Carl Bloch’s Annunciation to the Shepherds and The Twelve-year-old Jesus in the Temple.

Music: We’ve been listening to Scott Joplin and Aaron Copland over lunch.  A also went to my orchestra concert last weekend.

Science: We learned about lanthanides and did an experiment with pencils in different liquids to learn about refraction.

We also attempted to make a dollar bill dance with a magnet (the ink is magnetic) but it didn’t work out too well.

Geography: Yes, we even got to geography!  Can I say again how I love having a weekly checklist!  This makes two weeks in a row we’ve gotten to geography and science.   We read chapter 16-21 in Paddle to the Sea and continued our map labelling.

I love that on a Friday afternoon after a long week, my children say, “Hooray!  We get to do geography!”

Me?  I love that I have Monday off.  It’s been a long week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 6:45 am

    What a great report! Your time line reminds me that I have always wanted to do one with my kids. I think they would love it. What did you use? Did you make up your own? What are you using – is it printouts for the events? I’d love to know. Sometimes I just can’t get in all the web searching that I’d like to do to figure out how to do something!

    We love maps here too. We have been doing the 50 state postcard swap and it has been so much fun and everyone is really getting good at locating the states. Wouldn’t it be fun to figure out a way to do a country postcard swap! There is probably something like that out there too!

    Have a great Monday off! I always feel like I need Monday off and Friday off and well I guess I better just get everyone moving! 🙂

    Judi 🙂

  2. February 7, 2011 7:06 am

    That does look like a long week – but a productive one. Your timeline looks awesome. Makes me wish we had a long hallway to do one of those in. I think that when we start History we’ll be using a Book of Centuries instead: this house just doesn’t have much wallspace!

Leave a Reply

