Skip to content

Four years and life is rosy, just rosy–

February 28, 2011

As in roseola rash all over my baby due to some unknown virus.  And while contagious, it isn’t serious or life threatening.  And he’s finally stopped screaming at me.  It was near constant Friday and Saturday. It’s a good thing none of my babies have had colic.  I have a really hard time with constant crying and no way to abate it.  I feel like shutting down myself.

E didn’t want to be held, he didn’t want to be put down.  He didn’t want to eat, he didn’t want to sleep.  He’d had a fever, which dropped off Friday night, but really no other specific symptoms. Then as we were getting ready for Stake Conference yesterday, we took his pajamas off and noticed red spots everywhere.  DH dropped us off at the Assembly Hall for church and drove E up to Primary Children’s.  I’m grateful DH was unexpectedly home yesterday.  He’s generally the designated parent for doctor and hospital visits.  He handles them much better than I do.

Today, I got smiles from my boy for the first time in about five days.  He’s still light red and splotchy, but he’s happy again and life has been calm today.  It’s nice to feel like I can think clearly again.

Due to roseola boy, I let the blog’s birthday go right on by Saturday. It’s the story of my life lately.  Blogging is most certainly not the highest priority these days.  I’m a mom and life doesn’t slow down much, but I know one day these boys will grow up and then I’ll have all the time in the world.  I read somewhere the other day that blogging is dead.  It’s all about Facebook and Twitter now.  But I’m still here and I’m still committed to keeping a record of our family.

It’s been four years!  One of the best parts of this little blogging venture has been the fabulous people I can now call friends.  So…I’d love to know who’s still out there reading my little piece of blogdom.  Say hi, leave a comment, ask a question (here’s your chance–what are you dying to know about me?  Maybe that will jumpstart my writing a bit!), be anonymous, I don’t care.  But I do want to say thanks for reading.  🙂


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Harrington DeVogel permalink
    February 28, 2011 6:09 pm

    Please keep blogging. It is so wonderful to share in your family life…to know how my (not so distant) family members are growing and thriving… it is such a privilege! Love, Susan

  2. February 28, 2011 9:27 pm

    I much prefer reading blogs than visiting Facebook. And I honestly haven’t ever even looked at Twitter. But then I am not hip on all the latest things. I like blogs because they tend to be much more than just a drive by comment. Usually the writer thinks things through a little and shares insights. I get bored with facebook pretty quickly. I don’t think I have posted anything in almost a year on Facebook. I do check it occasionally but not like I check my blog reader. So keep blogging and I will keep reading (and sometimes even comment). I think I have been reading through all four years. Hard to believe it has been that long.

  3. Tamaran permalink
    March 1, 2011 4:18 pm

    I’ll always be here, even if I don’t always make time to comment. I love seeing what you are doing with school. Some day I hope to be able to use some of your ideas. I like reading your thoughts. I’m sorry E is so sick. I’ve been worried since B called on Saturday. I figured it must be bad because he called both phones. I’m glad he is doing better. I have to agree about being glad my kids haven’t had colic. Not sure I would make it through that one.

    Questions: When/how do you find time to practice/read? I haven’t done much reading since Tae came along and I haven’t picked violin lessons back up after Brayden. I’m just not sure how you manage to get as much done with your time as you do. You amaze me!

  4. March 2, 2011 6:02 pm

    So sorry to hear your little boy is sick. Hopefully he’s doing much better now. I just want you to know that I love your blog. I have all girls so its fun to see what life is like with all boys. I also love that you aren’t afraid to be “real” about homeschool. Its comforting and inspiring as a new-to-homeschool-er to hear that there are good weeks and not-so-good weeks and that life sometimes interrupts but that overall, its works itself out well. I read a lot but I haven’t really tackled any classics or more challenging reading in years because I don’t seem to have the mental energy. Your reading choices seem both thoughtful and challenging. How do you decide what to read?

Leave a Reply

